إظهار جميع النتائج

مستجدات فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

للاطلاع على آخر المعلومات والمستجدات من مؤسسة قطر حول فيروس كورونا، يرجى زيارة صفحة التصريحات الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر

الدكتور خالد فخرو

رئيس قسم الأبحاث بالإنابة ومدير برنامج الطب الدقيق في سدرة للطب

الطب الدقيق | علم الجينوم | العلوم والإرشاد | المعلوماتية الحيوية
الجهة التي ينتسبون إليهاسدرة للطب
اللغاتالإنجليزية والعربية

الدكتور خالد فخرو هو رئيس قسم الأبحاث بالإنابة ومدير برنامج الطب الدقيق في مركز السدرة للطب، حيث يرأس برنامجًا يركز على البحث في علم الجينوم والطب الشخصي.

كما أنه حاصل على تعيينات أعضاء هيئة التدريس في وايل كورنيل للطب – قطر وكذلك في جامعة حمد بن خليفة، أعضاء مؤسسة قطر، حيث يقوم بتدريس الصفوف والإشراف على الجيل القادم من طلاب الماجستير والدكتوراه في علم الوراثة البشرية وطبّ الجينوم

تركز البحوث التي تتم تحت إشرافه بمركز السدرة للطب على تحديد المتغيرات الجينية المسؤولة عن الاضطرابات النادرة والمعقدة في الدولة، والخرائط الجينية لأمراض مثل السكري وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والتوحد والسرطان وفيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)، والنظر في هيكل الجينوم للشعوب العربية، وغير الممثلة بشكل كافٍ في قواعد البيانات العالمية

انضم الدكتور خالد فخرو إلى سدرة للطب، حيث شغل منصب باحث رئيسي في يوليو 2014، وأصبح مديرًا لقسم علم الوراثة البشرية، حيث قام ببناء هيكل بحثي قوي لطب الجينوم بالمستشفى. في عام 2018، أصبح مدير أول الطب الدقيق في سدرة للطب، حيث ترأس برنامجًا طموحًا يهدف إلى تضمين كل من البحث في علوم الجينوم والطب الشخصي في قلب المؤسسة الطبية الأكاديمية في سدرة للطب. قبل أن ينضم إلى سدرة للطب، كان الدكتور فخرو جزءًا من قسم الطب الوراثي في وايل كورنيل للطب - قطر.

تخرج الدكتور خالد فخرو مع مرتبة الشرف من جامعة شيكاغو، تخصص علوم الأحياء مع تخصص في علم الأحياء الخلوي وعلم الوراثة الجزيئي، ثم أكمل بعد ذلك درجة الدكتوراه في علم الوراثة البشرية في جامعة ييل (الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية)

See all results

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

For the latest COVID-19 information and updates from Qatar Foundation, please visit our Statements page

Dr. Khalid A. Fakhro

Chief Research Officer and Director of the Precision Medicine Program at Sidra Medicine

Precision Medicine | Genomics | Science Education & Mentorship | Bioinformatics
AffiliationSidra Medicine
LanguagesEnglish, Arabic

Dr. Khalid A. Fakhro is the Chief Research Officer and Director of the Precision Medicine Program at Sidra Medicine, where he heads a program that focuses on research in genomics and personalized medicine.

Dr. Fakhro also holds adjunct faculty appointments at both Weill Cornell Medicine in Qatar and Hamad bin Khalifa University, where he teaches classes and mentors Master’s and Ph.D. students in human genetics and genomic medicine.

The research that his department conducts at Sidra Medicine focuses on identifying genetic variants that are responsible for rare and complex disorders in the country, genetic mapping of diseases such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, autism, cancer and the corona virus, and looking at the genomic structure of Arab populations, which are severely under-represented in global databases.

Dr. Fakhro joined Sidra Medicine as a Principal Investigator in July 2014, and became Director of the Human Genetics department, where he built a robust genomic medicine research pipeline for the hospital. In 2018, he became the inaugural Director of Precision Medicine at Sidra, heading an ambitious program where research in genomics and personalized medicine are embedded in the heart of Sidra Medicine’s academic medical enterprise. Prior to joining Sidra Medicine, Dr. Fakhro was part of the Department of Genetic Medicine at Weill-Cornell Medicine in Qatar.

Dr. Fakhro graduated with Honors from the University of Chicago, majoring in Biological Sciences with specialization in Cellular Biology and Molecular Genetics and later completed his Ph.D. in Human Genetics at Yale University.