إظهار جميع النتائج

مستجدات فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

للاطلاع على آخر المعلومات والمستجدات من مؤسسة قطر حول فيروس كورونا، يرجى زيارة صفحة التصريحات الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر

برامج إثراء الموهوبين في مؤسسة قطر

برامج خاصة مصممة لتحديد ودعم احتياجات الطلاب الشباب اللامعين، بالتعاون مع مركز جونز هوبكنز للشباب الموهوبين.

لمحة عامة

01

الأطفال الموهوبون هم الذين يؤدون بمستويات أعلى مقارنةً بالأطفال الآخرين من نفس العمر والخبرة والبيئة، أو لديهم القدرة على ذلك. تولي مؤسسة قطر اهتمامًا خاصًا لتوفير فرص وافرة لهؤلاء الأطفال الموهوبين لإطلاق إمكاناتهم الكاملة.

تهدف برامج إثراء الموهوبين في مؤسسة قطر إلى رعاية وقيادة وإلهام مفكرين مبتكرين وخبراء في التواصل بمستوى عالمي، وذلك من خلال توفير فرص وتحديات هادفة وجذّابة للطلاب الموهوبين في دولة قطر.

فعندما تتوفر للأطفال الموهوبين البيئة التعليمية المناسبة، فإنهم يكتسبون قدرة على التعلم بوتيرة تفوق بكثير أقرانهم في الدرجات والسن. ونظرًا لقدراتهم الفريدة، فإنهم بحاجة إلى تعديلات في تجاربهم التعليمية ليحققوا إمكاناتهم، وإلى مدرسين يدركون تمامًا معنى أن يكون الطالب موهوبًا.

الطلاب الذين يوصفون بالموهوبين:

  • ينحدرون من جميع الفئات العرقية والإثنية والثقافية، وكذلك من جميع الخلفيات الاقتصادية.
  • يحتاجون لفرص تعلم مناسبة ومتكررة وكافية.
  • ربما لا يحققون النتائج المرجوة في بيئة تعليمية تقليدية بسبب الافتقار إلى الخبرات التعليمية التي تتحداهم باستمرار، وإلى المدرسين الموهوبين والمدربين الذين يدركون احتياجاتهم الفريدة.
  • يحتاجون دعمًا وإرشادًا من قبل مدرسين مدربين لتنمية مهاراتهم الاجتماعية والعاطفية، وكذلك مجالات موهبتهم.
  • يحتاجون إلى فرص إثرائية تتحدى نقاط قوتهم وتستثمر اهتماماتهم.

البحث عن الطلاب الموهوبين

02

للتأهل للانضمام إلى أي من برامج إثراء الموهوبين في مؤسسة قطر، عليك أولًا الانضمام إلى البحث عن الموهوبين.

سيساعدك هذا الاختبار المتخصص لقدرات الموهوبين في اكتشاف نقاط القوة لدى طفلك وما إذا كانت برامج الإثراء الأكاديمي المتقدمة لدينا مناسبة لطفلك.

يفتح باب التسجيل لبرامج إثراء الموهوبين الصيفية في مؤسسة قطر في 18 أبريل 2021. وسيكون الأطفال الذين اجتازوا مرحلة البحث عن الموهوبين مؤهلين للتسجيل للبرنامج.

للتسجيل للبحث عن الموهوبين اضغط هنا.

نبذة عن اختبار القدرات الإدراكية
يقيس اختبار قدراتنا الإدراكية تطور قدرات الاستدلال في 3 مجالات رئيسية: الاستدلال اللفظي، والاستدلال الكمي، والاستدلال العام.

يحصل أغلب الأطفال على درجة متوسطة (25-75 بالمئة) أو أعلى من المتوسطة (76-89 بالمئة)، في حين أن ما بين 5 و10 بالمئة فقط سيحصلون على درجة الموهوبين أكاديميًا (90 بالمئة فأكثر). ويقدم سلّم الدرجات المئوية مقارنة بين أداء طفلك وأداء عينة دولية كبيرة من الطلاب في نفس السن وفي نفس الصف.

يتمتع كل الأطفال بجوانب قوة نسبية، ويدل الجانب الذي يسجل فيه طفلك أعلى الدرجات في اختبار قدراتنا الإدراكية على قوته النسبية. وقد يكون لبعض الطلاب قوة نسبية في جوانب متعددة.

  • الاستدلال المنطقي

    الاستدلال المنطقي هو القدرة على التفكير بالكلمات. والقوة في الاستدلال الشفوي مهمة للنجاح في جميع المواد الدراسية تقريبًا. ويبذل الأطفال الذين يتمتعون بقوة الاستدلال اللفظي قصارى جهدهم عندما يطلب منهم التحدث أو الكتابة أو كلاهما عما يحاولون تعلمه. وغالبًا ما يكون لهؤلاء الأطفال قدرة جيدة بشكل ملحوظ على تذكّر تسلسل الأصوات والحروف والكلمات والأحداث. وعادة ما يكون أداؤهم أعلى من المتوسط في التهجئة، والقواعد، وفي قدرتهم على تعلّم لغات أخرى.

  • الاستدلال الكمّي

    الاستدلال الكمّي هو القدرة على الاستدلال من خلال رموز مجرّدة. وتعد القوة في الاستدلال الكمي مهمة في الرياضيات والتفكير المنطقي والعلوم. يملك الأطفال ذوو القدرة الجيدة على الاستدلال الكمي القدرة على التفكير المجرد، وفي الصفوف الدنيا يملكون القدرة على التفكير المجرد في الجوانب الحسابية للرياضيات. ويتفوق الأطفال الذين يظهرون مستويات عالية من قدرات الاستدلال الكمي عادةً في تحديد الأنماط، أو الألغاز، أو ألعاب التفكير المعقدة، أو التحديات. وغالبًا ما يتعلم هؤلاء الأطفال مهارات الحاسوب بسهولة أكبر من نظرائهم، بما في ذلك القدرة على التفكير من خلال البرمجة الحاسوبية.

  • الاستدلال العام

    الاستدلال العام هو القدرة على تصنيف، وتبويب، وتحليل الأشكال والأرقام. وتعد القوة في الاستدلال العام مهمة في المجالات الفنية مثل النحت والرسم والفنون البصرية الأخرى. وهي مهمة للهندسة، والهندسة المعمارية، وغيرها من المجالات الإبداعية التي تتطلب مهارات تجريدية وإبداعية لحل المشكلات. يميل الأطفال ذوو القدرة العالية على الاستدلال العام إلى النماذج البصرية عند حل المشكلات، ويفضلون الرسومات والخرائط على الاتجاهات النصية. ويكون التعلم أسهل عليهم عندما يتمكنون بسهولة من ربط كل مفهوم جديد أو علاقة بنموذج عقلي أو بدني. كما يتعلمون بسهولة عندما يتعاملون مع العالم الحقيقي أو الأمثلة البصرية.

برامج صيف 2021

03

تقدم مؤسسة قطر بالتعاون مع مركز جونز هوبكنز للشباب الموهوبين، الريادي في التعليم على مستوى العالم، دورات صيفية مباشرة للاستكشاف الافتراضي التفاعلي من يونيو إلى يوليو 2021.

هذه الدورات الإثرائية الشيقة يعدّها ويقدمها مدربون خبراء من مركز جونز هوبكنز للشباب الموهوبين ومؤسسة قطر، وهي مخصصة للطلاب الموهوبين فقط. وتوفر هذه الدورات باقة من التعليم المباشر وورش العمل الشخصية التي تشمل مناقشات، ومشروعات صفية، وتجارب عملية تفاعلية مصممة لتعزيز التعلم المجتمعي والأكثر عمقًا. وتركّز هذه الدورات على مجموعة من الموضوعات الشيقة التي يدرسها مدربون مختصون في مجال تعليم الطلاب الموهوبين.

تجري هذه الدورات بين 29 يونيو و18 يوليو 2021. وستُجرى الفصول الشخصية أيام الأحد والأربعاء من 1 ظهرًا إلى 4 عصرًا في أكاديمية قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا بالمدينة التعليمية، في حين ستُجرى الفصول عبر الإنترنت أيام الأحد والثلاثاء والخميس من 7-8 مساءً.

  • العلم في وعاء (الصفوف 3-4)

    الأهلية: 90 درجة أو أعلى في اختبار البحث عن المواهب الكمي أو الشفوي مناسب
    للمهتمين للغاية بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

    ماذا يمكن لدلو من الماء أو للاسترخاء تحت ظل شجرة أن يعلّمك عن العلم؟ اكتشف أرشميدس مبدأ الطفو في حوض الاستحمام، ويُعتقد أن نيوتن اكتشف الجاذبية وهو جالس تحت شجرة تفاح. وفي حين أن حكايات الاكتشاف هذه قد تكون أقرب إلى الخرافة منها إلى الحقيقة، فقد تحققت العديد من الاكتشافات العلمية المهمة خارج المختبرات. تحقّق من المبادئ العلمية باستخدام أوعية منزلية عادية، وتعرف على مبادئ علوم الكيمياء، والفيزياء، والأحياء، والبيئة من خلال هذه الأوعية. وافحص الطفو، وتشكيل الموجات، وتعليق التربة، وتعلم مبادئ رفع المياه باللولب، وصنع ساعة المياه. وفي الوقت نفسه، تعرف على المنهج العلمي، والكتابة، والإجراءات التالية، وكيفية إيصال النتائج إلى الآخرين بشكل فعال.

  • الأحياء الدقيقة (الصفّين 4 و 5)

    الأهلية: 90 درجة أو أعلى في اختبار البحث عن المواهب الكمي أو الشفوي
    مناسب للمهتمين للغاية بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، ولأطباء المستقبل

    على الرغم من أن حجم فيروس "سارس-كوف- 2 " المسبب لكوفيد- 19 لا يتجاوز 100 نانومتر، لكنه تسبب في وباء عالمي. فكيف يمكن لشيء بالغ الصغر أن يسبب هذا القدر الكبير من الضرر؟ استكشف أنواعًا مختلفة من الفيروسات والبكتيريا، وتعرّف على كيفية تعايش مسببات الأمراض مع البشر عبر التاريخ. واكتشف لماذا تعود بعض الكائنات الدقيقة بالفائدة على الجسم المضيف، وكيف يسبب بعضها الآخر المشكلات، ولماذا يصعب للغاية فهم عدد منها. وكجزء من واجبك الدراسي لإتقان هذا المحتوى، تشارك في أنشطة قصيرة في المنزل مثل صنع نموذج فيروس كورونا من المواد المنزلية أو باستخدام مواد لامعة لفهم انتقال الجراثيم بشكل أفضل. ستختار أيضًا الكائنات الدقيقة التي ستدرسها وتعرضها لنظرائك، وتكتسب معرفة أساسية في علم الأحياء الدقيقة وفهمًا أفضل للكائنات الدقيقة من حولنا.

  • من خلال العدسة (الصفّين 4 و 5)

    الأهلية: 90 درجة أو أعلى في اختبار البحث عن المواهب الكمي أو الشفوي
    مناسب للمغامرين حول العالم وعشاق القراءة

    عندما تنظر إلى صورة، ماذا ترى؟ حيثما ذهبت تجد الصور، لدى الصحافة، والفنون، وألبومات العائلة، ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ما هي القصص التي تحكيها؟ استكشف السبل التي تمكّن الصور الفوتوغرافية من تثقيفنا، وإقناعنا، وإدخال السرور إلى قلوبنا، وأحيانًا حتى تغيير العالم. على سبيل المثال، في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر، نشر عالم الاجتماع لويس هاين صورًا لأطفال يعملون في المطاحن، والمصانع، والحقول، والمناجم، وشوارع المدن. وقد ساعدت صوره في إصلاح قوانين عمل الأطفال في الولايات المتحدة، ولكن لماذا أحدثت هذه الصور مثل هذا الفرق؟ من خلال المناقشات والمهام الجماعية، فكر فيما يعطي الصور هذا القدر من المعاني، واصقل مهارات الملاحظة والتحليل لديك. ابدأ مشروعات مقالات صور خاصة بك، بما في ذلك سرد أحداث أحد أيام حياتك باستخدام الصور الذاتية فقط، أو دليلًا إرشاديًا للقيام بشيء ما باستخدام الصور والتعليقات.

  • الصحون الورقية والمفاتيح: فيزياء مدينة الملاهي (الصفّين 5 و 6)

    الأهلية: 90 درجة أو أعلى في اختبار البحث عن المواهب الكمي أو الشفوي
    مناسب للمهتمين للغاية بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

    هل تساءلت يومًا لماذا تنزلق باتجاه صديقك عندما تكون جالسًا في لعبة الدوران، أو لماذا لا تطير من الأفعوانية حتى عندما تسير رأسًا على عقب؟ تعرف على فيزياء حياتنا اليومية وكيف تعمل هذه القوى في مدن الملاهي. استكشف مفاهيم رئيسية مثل التسارع، والجاذبية، والطاقة الحركية والمحتملة عند دراستك لكيفية تصميم المركبات باستخدام هذه المفاهيم لتحقيق نتائج مثيرة. استخدم منتجات البناء البسيطة والمساحات المتاحة في المختبر الافتراضي لتصميم مركبات مدينة الملاهي الخاصة بك، بالاستفادة من قواعد الميكانيكا الكلاسيكية للحصول على أفضل النتائج.

  • مهمة إلى المريخ: روبوتات في الفضاء (الصفّين 5 و 6)

    الأهلية: 90 درجة أو أعلى في اختبار البحث عن المواهب الكمي أو الشفوي
    مناسب للمهتمين للغاية بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، والماهرين في ألعاب الفيديو

    مناسب للمهتمين للغاية بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، والماهرين في ألعاب الفيديو "سوجورنر"، و"سبيريت"، و"أبورتيونيتي" هي روبوتات أرسلتها الإدارة الوطنية للملاحة الجوية والفضاء "ناسا" بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لاستكشاف كوكب المريخ. ورغم استمرار كل منها بالعمل بعد انتهاء فترة مهمتها، لكنها لم تقدر على مقاومة الظروف القاسية في ذلك الكوكب. فقدت "سوجورنر" محطة قاعدتها، وعلقت "سبيريت" في التربة، ووقعت "أبورتيونيتي" فريسة لعاصفة غبار، في حين ما زالت عربة "كيوريوسيتي" ترسل الصور الذاتية من المريخ، ويُنتظر أن تصل "بيرسيفيرانس" إلى هناك خلال العام 2021، وما زال هذا النشاط العلمي للروبوتات يضيف الكثير إلى المعرفة البشرية في هذا المجال. ولكن كيف يمكن لأحد أن يصمم روبوتًا يجمع معلومات مفيدة ويتمكن من النجاة من الظروف القاسية في الكوكب الأحمر؟ ركّزوا على إيجاد إجابة لهذا السؤال عند استكشافكم للمفاهيم البرمجية مثل استخدام الشروط، والمتغيرات، والوظائف، والتحلل، والتجريد، والتحكم في التدفق. تطبيق هذه المعرفة، وبناء برمجة الروبوت لاستكمال التحديات الخاصة بالمريخ مثل المناورة الذاتية لاسترجاع الأجسام، يكسبك خبرة مباشرة في مجال الروبوتات في الفضاء.

  • التشخيص: كن طبيبًا (الصفوف 7 - 10)

    الأهلية: 90 درجة أو أعلى في اختبار البحث عن المواهب الكمي أو الشفوي
    مناسب للمهتمين للغاية بالعلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، وأطباء المستقبل

    يحتاج الأطباء كثيرًا إلى اتخاذ قرارات سريعة اعتمادًا على معرفتهم وخبراتهم وقائمة قصيرة من الأعراض، وليس من السهل دومًا الوصول إلى التشخيص الدقيق، وفي كثير من الأحيان تعتمد حياة المريض على هذا التشخيص. في هذا البرنامج نستشرف عددًا من المفاهيم البيولوجية والكيميائية الأساسية لنتعرّف من خلالها على الآليات التشريحية والفسيولوجية الكامنة وراء وظائف جسم الإنسان. وبعيدًا عن اجتماعات هذا الصف الدراسي، يمكنك توظيف المعرفة المكتسبة والبحث الإضافي لكتابة دراسات حالة عن مواقف سارت بشكل خاطئ. تتضمن الأنشطة ضمن هذا البرنامج طرح الأسئلة وتقديم الإجابات، والوقوف على المسببات الرئيسية، وإجراء الاختبارات، وتحديد طرق العلاج التي ستساعد مرضاك في التعافي. قد يتعين عليك على سبيل المثال أن تطبق فهمك للنظام التنفسي ونظام الدورة الدموية لإنقاذ لاعب هوكي تلقى ضربة أثناء اللعب، أو توظيف فهمك للجهاز العصبي لمساعدة طفل صغير يعاني من تعاقب التشنجات.

تواصل معنا

04

لمزيد من المعلومات عن برامج إثراء الموهوبين لدى مؤسسة قطر، يرجى التواصل عبر البريد الإلكتروني مع سينثيا بولتون، رئيس تعليم الموهوبين في مؤسسة قطر.

See all results

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

For the latest COVID-19 information and updates from Qatar Foundation, please visit our Statements page

Qatar Foundation Gifted Enrichment Programs

Special programs designed to identify and support the needs of bright, young students, in collaboration with the Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth.

Overview

01

Gifted children are those who perform, or have the capability to perform, at higher levels compared to other children of the same age, experience, and environment. At Qatar Foundation, we ensure these talented children are provided ample opportunities to unlock their full potential.

The Qatar Foundation Gifted Enrichment Programs aim to cultivate, lead, and inspire world-class, innovative thinkers and expert communicators by providing challenging, meaningful, and engaging opportunities for gifted students in Qatar.

When provided with the appropriate educational environment, gifted children have the capacity to learn at a pace that far surpasses their grade and age peers. Because of their unique ability, they require modifications to their educational experiences to realize their potential and educators who fully understand what it means to be gifted.

Student who are identified as gifted:

  • Come from all racial, ethnic, and cultural populations, as well as all economic backgrounds.
  • Require sufficient and frequent access to appropriate learning opportunities.
  • May not achieve in a traditional school environment due to the lack of educational experiences that consistently challenge them and trained gifted educators that understand their unique needs.
  • Need support and guidance by trained gifted educators to develop socially and emotionally, as well as in their areas of giftedness.
  • Require enriching opportunities that challenge their areas of strength and capitalize on their areas of interest.

Gifted Talent Search

02

To qualify for any of the QF Gifted Enrichment Programs, you need to join the Gifted Talent Search. Through this specialized gifted ability testing, we will help you discover your child’s strengths and whether our advanced academic enrichment courses are right for your child. 

Registration for the Qatar Foundation Gifted Enrichment Summer Programs opens on 18 April 2021. Only children who have qualified through our Talent Search will be eligible to register for the programs.

To register for the Talent Search, click here.


About our cognitive abilities testing
Our cognitive abilities test measures the development of reasoning abilities in three key areas: verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, and general reasoning.

Most children score in the average (25th - 75th percentile) or above average (76th - 89th percentile) range, while only five to ten percent will score in the academically gifted (90th percentile and above) range. The percentile rank provides a comparison of your child’s performance to that of a large, international sample of students of the same age and in the same grade.

All children have relative strengths; the area in which your child scores the highest on our cognitive abilities test will indicate their relative strength. Some students may have a relative strength in multiple areas.

  • Verbal reasoning

    Verbal reasoning is the ability to reason with words. A strength in verbal reasoning is important for success in virtually all school subjects. Children with a verbal reasoning strength generally do best when they are encouraged to talk and/or write about what they are attempting to learn. These children often have remarkably good memories for sequences of sounds, letters, words, and events. They typically are above average in spelling, grammar, and in their ability to learn other languages.

  • Quantitative reasoning

    Quantitative reasoning is the ability to reason with abstract symbols. A strength in quantitative reasoning is important in mathematics, logical thinking, and the sciences. Children with a quantitative reasoning strength are capable of abstract thinking and, at the lower grades, in the computational aspects of mathematics. Children who display high levels of quantitative reasoning abilities typically excel in identifying patterns, puzzles and complex thinking games or challenges. These children often learn computer skills more readily than their peers including the ability to reason through computer programming.

  • General reasoning

    General reasoning is the ability to classify, categorize, and analyze shapes and figures. A strength in general reasoning is important in artistic fields such as sculpting, drawing, and other visual arts. It is also important for engineering, architecture, and other creative fields that require abstract and creative problem-solving skills. Children with a general reasoning strength prefer visual models when solving problems. They prefer graphics and maps to text directions. Learning is easiest for these children when they can readily connect each new concept or relationship with a mental or physical model. These children learn easiest with real world or visual examples.

Summer Program 2021

03

In collaboration with the global leader in gifted education, Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth (CTY), Qatar Foundation is offering CTY’s Live Interactive Virtual Explorations (L.I.V.E) summer courses from June to July 2021.

These engaging enrichment courses, developed and delivered by CTY and Qatar Foundation expert instructors, are for identified gifted students only. L.I.V.E. courses offer a blend of online instruction and in-person workshops that include discussions, class projects, and interactive hands-on experiences designed to foster community and deeper learning. The courses focus on a range of engaging topics taught by instructors who specialize in teaching gifted students.

The courses will take place from 29 June to 18 July 2021. In-person sessions will take place on Sundays and Wednesdays from 1-4 pm at the Qatar Academic for Science and Technology (QAST) in Education City, while the online sessions will take place every Sunday, Tuesday, and Thursday from 7-8 pm.

  • Science in a Bucket (Grade 3-4)

    Eligibility: Talent Search quantitative or verbal score of 90th percentile or above
    Ideal for: STEM Fanatics

    What can a bucket of water or lounging beneath a shade tree teach you about science? Archimedes discovered the principle of buoyancy in a bathtub, and Newton allegedly discovered gravity while sitting under an apple tree. While these tales of discovery may be more myth than fact, many significant scientific discoveries were made in non-laboratory settings. Investigate scientific principles utilizing only common household containers, covering the basics of chemistry, physical science, biology, and ecology through these vessels. Examine buoyancy, wave formation, and soil suspensions and learn the principles behind lifting water with a screw and making a water clock. Simultaneously, learn about the scientific method, writing and following procedures, and how to effectively communicate your findings to others.  

  • Microbiology (Grade 4-5)

    Eligibility: Talent Search quantitative score of 90th percentile or above
    Ideal for: STEM Fanatics, Future Doctors

    SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, is about 100nm in size but has caused a global pandemic. How can something so small cause so much damage? Explore different types of viruses and bacteria, learning how pathogens have cohabitated with human beings throughout history. Discover why some microorganisms are helpful, how others infect their hosts to cause trouble, and why many are so difficult to understand. As part of your coursework to master this content, you participate in short at-home activities such as making a coronavirus model out of household items or using glitter to better understand germ transmission. You will also select a microorganism to research and present to your peers, gaining a foundational knowledge of microbiology and a better understanding of the tiny organisms all around us. 

  • Through the Lens (Grade 4-5)

    Eligibility: Talent Search verbal score of 90th percentile or above
    Ideal for: World Adventurers, Bookworms

    When you look at a photograph, what do you see? You find photographs everywhere—in journalism, art, family albums, and social media. What stories do they tell? Explore the ways that photographs can amuse, educate, and persuade us—and sometimes even change the world. In the early 1900s, for example, sociologist Lewis Hine published photographs of children working in mills, factories, fields, mines, and city streets. His photographs helped lead to the reform of U.S. child labor laws, but why did these photos make such a difference? Through group discussions and assignments, consider what makes photos so meaningful as you sharpen your observation and analysis skills. Embark on photo essay projects of your own, including a day-in-the-life narrative using only selfies and a how-to guide using photos and captions. 

  • Coasters & Corkscrews: Amusement Park Physics (Grade 5-6)

    Eligibility: Talent Search quantitative score of 90th percentile or above
    Ideal for: STEM Fanatics

    Have you ever wondered why you slide into your friend when you're on the Tilt-A-Whirl, or why you don't fly out of a rollercoaster even when you're traveling upside down? Examine the physics of our everyday lives and how these forces work in popular amusement parks. Explore key concepts such as acceleration, gravity, and potential and kinetic energy as you investigate how rides are engineered to utilize these concepts for thrilling results. Using virtual lab spaces and simple building products, design your own amusement park rides, employing Newtonian mechanics to maximize your results. 

  • Mission to Mars: Robotics in Space (Grade 5-6)

    Eligibility: Talent Search quantitative score of 90th percentile or above
    Ideal for: STEM Fanatics, Skilled Gamers

    Sojourner, Spirit, and Opportunity—robots sent by NASA to explore Mars—each outlasted their missions but were ultimately bested by the planet’s harsh conditions. Sojourner lost its base station, Spirit became stuck in its soil, and Opportunity fell prey to a dust storm. With Curiosity still sending selfies from Mars—and Perseverance set to land there in 2021—human space knowledge is benefiting immensely from the scientific work of robots. But how does one design a robot to survive the red planet and gather helpful information? Focus on answering this very question as you explore programming concepts such as the use of conditionals, variables, functional, decomposition, abstraction, and flow control. Applying this knowledge, construct and program a robot to complete Mars-specific challenges like autonomous maneuvering for retrieving objects, thereby gaining firsthand insight into robotics in space. 

  • Diagnosis: Be the Doctor (Grade 7-10)

    Eligibility: Talent Search quantitative score of 90th percentile or above
    Ideal for: STEM Fanatics, Future Doctors

    Doctors often have to make quick decisions based on their knowledge, experience, and a short list of symptoms—it’s not so easy to always get it right, and lives are often on the line. Drawing upon basic biological and chemical concepts, explore the intricate anatomical and physiological mechanisms underlying human function. Outside of class meetings, use your new knowledge and additional research to write case studies about situations gone wrong. You must ask and answer questions, diagnose root causes, run tests, and order treatments that will help your patients recover. You might, for example, apply your understanding of the respiratory and circulatory systems to an injured hockey player who took a hit during a game, or to the nervous system of a child who has had a series of seizures. 

Contact Us

04

For any more information about the Qatar Foundation Gifted Enrichment Programs, email Cynthia Bolton, Head of Gifted Education at Qatar Foundation.