إظهار جميع النتائج

سيروا في الأرض

آخر أعمال الفنان مقبول فدا حسين يتناول مسيرة تقدّم بني البشر وترحالهم في الأرض، والجو، والبحر، واستغلالهم لما حولهم من مصادر لتحقيق أهدافهم في عمارة الأرض.

مقدمة

01

آخر أعمال الفنان الراحل مقبول فدا حسين وجد موطنًا دائمًا له في رحاب المدينة التعليمية، ويتناول العمل الفني مسيرة تقدّم بني البشر وترحالهم في الأرض، والجو، والبحر.

يمكّن الفن الناس من النظر إلى العالم والتفكّر فيه من منظورات وعدسات مختلفة؛ والنظر فيما يقوله ماضينا عن حاضرنا ومستقبلنا، كما يمكنهم من مشاركة خبراتهم وتجاربهم بما فيه غذاء للعقول، وتفتيح للمدارك.

ليلى باشا أخصائي فنون أول

يدعونا حسين في هذا العمل الفني لنسير في الأرض، ونستكشف ما بها ونستغلها أفضل استغلال لتحقيق مآربنا، كما فعل من قبلنا بنو البشر.

مبنى سيروا في الأرض من الداخل قبل بدء العرض الفني.

فنان ورحلة إبداع

02

ولد مقبول فدا حسين في 29 نوفمبر 1913، قبل أكثر من قرن مضى. وكشخص تربطه علاقة وثيقة بثقافته، وجد الفنان إلهامه في طيات النسيج الديني والثقافي للمجتمعات التي عاش فيها، والتجارب الحياتية التي خاضها. نشأ حسين في زمن اشتدت فيه الاضطرابات التي كان لها أثرٌ بالغٌ في أعماق نفسه كما ألقتْ بظلالها عليه سياسيًا، فاتخذ من الفن ملاذًا مذ كان يافعًا، وتعلّم بجهده الذاتي الرسم والتلوين، وفن الخط، وغير ذلك من وسائل التعبير الفنية.

تمثلّت بداياته المتواضعة في رسم لوحات ترويجية للأفلام السينمائية لبوليوود، وكانت بداية الطريق إلى إخراج أفلام لقيت استحسانًا دوليًا. لم يكن حسين مجرّد رسام، إذ تضمن فضاء اهتماماته الفنية النحت والفسيفساء والموسيقى والسينما والشعر وغير ذلك. كما امتهن صناعة الألعاب في أحد منعطفات حياته. وتوجهت أعماله الفنية لعامة الناس، الكبير منهم والصغير، وخصوصًا الأطفال. واعتاد في موطنه بالهند، وكذلك هنا في بلاد العرب، أن ينظر للعالم نظرة فضول كالأطفال وتساؤل كالفلاسفة، متحليًا بإبداع وحماسة أهل الفن.

حسين وهو يقف إلى جانب أول حصان زجاجي اكتمل صنعه، وهو الحصان الأبيض.

نموذج مصغر للخيول الزجاجية المعروضة حاليًا بحجمها الطبيعي كما كان يأمل حسين.

تجذّرت مسيرة حسين الفنية في جنوب آسيا، وبقي في حوار دائم مع الثقافات والتقاليد العربية والغربية على حد سواء. ولاقت الأعمال الفنية للفنان ذو الأصول الهندية والذي يحمل جنسية قطرية إعجابًا عالميًا يتخطى الحدود، وفي آخر سنوات عمره، وجد في دولة قطر موطنًا جديدًا وملاذًا يصوغ فيه آخر رؤاه الفنية. وكان دائمًا يقول: "العالم لوحتي". بهذا الفضول الطفولي جسّد "سيروا في الأرض"، العمل الفني الذي ترونه أمامكم اليوم؛ إنه الإرث الباقي لرجل علا صيته في تاريخ الفن الحديث.

وقفة عند إلهام

03

بكل تفاصيله المتداخلة، يحمل هذا العمل الفني معنى بسيطًا جدًا، ألا وهو: الاحتفاء بروح الإبداع والابتكار لدى بني البشر، فيروي قصة تطور الإنسان، التي بدأت به وهو يجوب الأرض على قدميه ليكتشف بديع صنع الله، مستجيبًا للأمر الإلهي المنزل في

سورة العنكبوت: "قُلْ سِيرُوا فِي الْأَرْضِ فَانظُرُوا كَيْفَ بَدَأَ الْخَلْقَ..." (20). فأصبحت هذه الآية العنوان الذي اختاره حسين لهذا العمل الفني.

سيروا في الأرض أثناء العرض الفني.

مرت القرون وازدهرت الحضارة، يسابقها ازدهار الطموح الإنساني. يسلط هذا العمل الفني الضوء على استغلال الناس في المنطقة للطبيعة، ومن ثم الآلات، ليعمروا في الأرض. يقول حسين: "مشى الإنسان على الأرض بأقدام حافية ليكتشف بديع صنع الله، وصعد على صهوات الأحصنة ليستعمر الأرض، وأبحر بالسفن كالسندباد البحار، واخترع الآلات والأدوات ليطيل باع إنجازاته اللامتناهية في الأرض والبحر والجو".

العمل الفني

04

رؤية حسين تصور هذا العمل الفني حركيًا، يختبره المشاهدون بحواسهم، فتحوي إحدى رسومه التخطيطية من عام 2009 رسمًا لأحصنة على حائط من الفسيفساء، وتمثالًا لعباس بن فرناس يتدلى من السقف، ومنحوتة لآلة الطيران التي اخترعها دافينشي، وأحصنة من زجاج ملون، وسيارات قديمة. يقول حسين: "المجموعة كلها كأنها عرض أحصنة من زجاج كريستالي ترقص على أنغام أغنية تقليدية للفروسية تتجلى فيها مظاهر الشجاعة والقوة".

لم يحد العمل الفني عند اكتماله عن المفهوم متعدد الأبعاد الذي تصوره الفنان، ويتكون مما يلي:

01

خمسة أحصنة "مورانو" مصنوعة من الزجاج

الكريستالي بالألوان الأزرق والأحمر والأخضر والكهرماني والأبيض، تدور على منصة دائرية في منتصف المبنى.

02

التمثال البرونزي المتدلي للرجل الطائر

وهو تمثال لعباس بن فرناس، الذي عرف عنه أنه من أوائل الناس الذين حاولوا الطيران في القرن التاسع.

03

نسخة برونزية مطابقة لآلة دافنشي للطيران

التي وُضع رسمها التخطيطي الأصلي في القرن السادس عشر بناءً على ميكانيكا الحيوانات المجنَّحة.

04

خمسة سيارات قديمة

مُعارة من متحف الشيخ فيصل بن قاسم آل ثاني معروضة على منصة دائرية متحركة تدور حول العمل الفني.

05

فسيفساء الأحصنة ذات الألوان الزاهية

كخلفية للعمل الفني، وصنعت الفسيفساء من "الترينكايدس"، المعروف أيضًا باسم فسيفساء البلاط المُكسَّر.

06

موسيقى

تتزامن مع حركة أجزاء العمل الفني.

زوروا سيروا في الأرض

05

وجد هذا العمل الفني موطنًا دائمًا له في رحاب المدينة، وذلك في مبنى سيروا في الأرض الواقع بجوار مطعم "شيفز جاردن"، والشقب.

لزيارة "سيروا في الأرض"، يرجى الضغط هنا.

See all results

Seeroo fi al ardh

This is the final artwork of Maqbool Fida Husain highlighting the progress of humanity on land, in air and sea, and their inclination to utilize the surrounding resources to achieve their goals.

Introduction

01

Seeroo fi al ardh is one of the late Maqbool Fida Husain’s latest works. The artwork highlights the progress of humanity on land, in air and sea.

Art has the power to make them [people] look at, and think about, the world from different perspectives and through different lenses; to appreciate what the past can tell us about our present and our future, and to share in experiences that broaden our worldviews and nourish our minds.

Layla BachaSenior Art Specialist

Through this artwork, the artist is inviting us to walk the earth and utilize it to further our achievements like humankind did before.

The inside of Seeroo fi al ardh building before the start of the art performance.

The Man behind the Show

02

Maqbool Fida Husain, popularly known as M.F. Husain, was born over a century ago on 29 November 1913. As a painter intimately connected to his cultural setting, Husain was able to draw on the rich tapestry of religion, history, and social realities he witnessed throughout his life. Growing up in a time of mass upheaval, both personal and political, Husain took an early interest in art, teaching himself painting, calligraphy, and various other forms of expression.

From his humble beginnings painting cinema posters and billboards for a growing Bollywood film industry, to directing internationally acclaimed films, Husain was much more than a ‘mere’ painter. His vast repertoire as an artist included: sculpture, mosaic, music, cinema, poetry, and much more. Among the many detours of his life, Husain even had a brief stint as a toymaker. Indeed, all his works were meant for public consumption, for the young and old, but especially children. At home in India and here in Arabia, he saw the world with the wonder of a child, the wisdom of a philosopher, and the joy of a discoverer.

Husain standing next to the first completed crystal horse; the white horse.

Crystal horses’ copies that Husain hoped to make into the full-size horses now on display

While his artistic career was rooted in South Asia, Husain was always in conversation with the traditions of the West and the Arab world. An artist of Indian origin with Qatari citizenship, his art echoed globally, beyond borders. Towards the end of his life, he found a new home in Qatar which gave him refuge to explore his final artistic visions. “The world is my canvas”, he often said. It is that same curiosity and childlike wonder that comes through in Seeroo fi al ardh, the artwork you see before you today – and the lasting legacy of a towering figure in the history of modern art.

The Inspiration

03

This unusual art installation, in all its complexity, serves a simple purpose: to pay tribute to mankind’s spirit of innovation. The artwork tells the story of human progress, which began with mankind walking through this earth to discover the wonders of God’s creations.

It is, above all, a response to the divine command cited in the title: Seeroo fi al ardh “Travel through the earth and observe how He began creation…” (Qur’an 29:20).

Seeroo fi al ardh during the art performance.

As centuries passed and civilization progressed, so did human ambition. The installation explores how people in the region manipulated nature, and eventually machines, to shape the world around them. “…Man walked on earth with bare feet to discover the wonders of God’s creation. Man mounted a horse to conquer the land. Man sailed a ship like Sindbad the sailor. Man invented power machines to speed up his endless achievements on earth, sea and air”, said Husain.

The Ensemble

04

This is an artwork imagined to be both kinetic and experiential. The artist visualized the installation in one of his sketches from 2009, having a mosaic wall painting depicting horses, a sculpture of Abbas ibn Firnas suspended from the ceiling, a sculpture of da Vinci’s flying machine, colored glass horses, and vintage cars. In his own words, “the entire ensemble is like a performance of dancing horses in crystal glass set to the tune of traditional song of horsemanship, chivalry and strength”.

The final artwork, staying true to the artist’s original, multi-dimensional concept, has come to consist of the following elements:

01

Five Murano Crystal Glass Horses

coming in blue, red, green, amber, and white, rotating on a circular platform in the middle of the carousel.

02

The Flying Man Suspended Bronze Sculpture of Abbas ibn Firnas

The man reputed to have made one of the earliest recorded attempts of flight in the 9th century.

03

Bronze Replica of da Vinci’s Flying Machine

Originally sketched in the 16th century, inspired by the mechanics of winged animals.

04

Five Vintage Cars

On loan from Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum displayed on a circular rotating platform around the artwork.

05

Vibrant Colored Mosaic of Horses

Forming the backdrop of the carousel. The mosaic wall is made from Trencadís, which is also known as broken tile mosaics.

06

Music

Synchronized to the choreography of the carousel’s kinetic mechanism.

Visit Seero fi al ardh

05

This artwork is permanently placed on the grounds of Education City, next to Chef’s Garden and Al Shaqab.

To attend the Seeroo fi al ardh carousel performance, please click here.