إظهار جميع النتائج

مستجدات فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

للاطلاع على آخر المعلومات والمستجدات من مؤسسة قطر حول فيروس كورونا، يرجى زيارة صفحة التصريحات الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر

الدكتور باتريك تانج

رئيس قسم علم الأمراض في سدرة للطب، وأستاذ مشارك في علم الأمراض والطب المخبري في كلية وايل كورنيل للطب – قطر

الدكتور باتريك تانج هو رئيس قسم علم الأمراض في سدرة للطب، وأستاذ مشارك في علم الأمراض والطب المخبري في كلية وايل كورنيل للطب – قطر. بالإضافة إلى دوره كخبير استشاري في علم الأحياء الدقيقة الطبية، الدكتور تانج هو المسؤول عن تطوير الاختبارات الجزيئية والجينومية الجديدة وتنفيذها في مجالي علم الأحياء المجهري والأمراض المعدية، وغيرها من التخصصات التشخيصية في المختبرات السريرية بـ"سدرة للطب".

الجهة التي ينتسبون إليهاسدرة للطب وكلية وايل كورنيل للطب – قطر
اللغاتالإنجليزية

تتمثل اهتمامات الدكتور تانج السريرية والبحثية في تطبيق علم الجينوم والميتاجينوميات على الأمراض المعدية والصحة العامة، بالإضافة إلى تطوير التشخيص الجزيئي المستجد. وهو أيضًا من الرواد في استخدام تسلسل الجينوم الكامل لفهم الأمراض المتفشية، واستخدام الميتاجينوميات، للكشف عن العوامل المعدية الجديدة. تضمنت مشاريعه دراسة العوامل المعدية الجديدة في الأمراض المزمنة، واستخدام علم الجينوم للحد من انتقال مرض السل، ودراسة الميكروبات البشرية والحيوانية، وتتبع انتشار انفلونزا الطيور، والبحث عن طرق أفضل لرصد تلوث المياه.

قبل انضمامه إلى سدرة للطب، كان الدكتور تانج قائدًا على العلماء والأطباء السريريين في مركز كولومبيا البريطانية لمكافحة الأمراض وأستاذًا مساعدًا في قسم علم الأمراض والطب المخبري بجامعة كولومبيا البريطانية. تولى العديد من الأدوار، بدءاً من المختبرات السريرية وصولًا إلى علم الأوبئة في الأوبئة المتفشية العالمية السابقة، بما في ذلك تفشي السارس ووباء إنفلونزا "أتش ون أند ون" لعام 2009.

مشاريع ومنشورات

01

Publications

Projects

Related Articles

02

See all results

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

For the latest COVID-19 information and updates from Qatar Foundation, please visit our Statements page

Dr. Patrick Tang

Division Chief of Pathology Sciences at Sidra Medicine and Associate Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Weill-Cornell Medical College (WCM-Q)

Research | Clinical Microbiology | Infectious Diseases and Outbreaks
AffiliationSidra Medicine and Weill-Cornell Medical College (WCM-Q)
LanguagesEnglish

Dr. Patrick Tang (MD, PhD, FRCPC) is the division chief of Pathology Sciences at Sidra Medicine and an associate professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at Weill-Cornell Medical College. In addition to his clinical role as a consultant medical microbiologist, Dr. Tang is responsible for the development and implementation of new molecular and genomics-based tests for infectious diseases at Sidra.

Dr. Tang’s clinical and research interests are in the application of genomics and metagenomics to infectious diseases and public health as well as the development of novel molecular diagnostics. He is a pioneer in the use of whole-genome sequencing to understand outbreaks and the use of metagenomics to uncover new infectious agents. His research projects have included searching for novel infectious agents in chronic diseases and outbreaks, using genomics to reduce TB transmission, studying the microbiomes of people, animals and the environment, tracking the spread of avian influenza, and looking for better ways to monitor water pollution.

Prior to joining Sidra, Dr. Tang was a Clinician-Scientist leader at the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control and a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the University of British Columbia. He has taken on many roles (from the bedside to the laboratory bench to epidemiology) in past global outbreaks including the SARS outbreak and the 2009 H1N1 influenza pandemic.