2015 M10 21

برنامج قطر للريادة في العلوم استثمار مضمون لتحقيق رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030

مشاركة
نظمت مؤسسة قطر مؤخراً ورشة عمل أدرجت على جدول أعمالها مناقشة التجارب السابقة والفرص المستقبلية لبرنامج قطر للريادة في العلوم، وشارك فيها نخبة من قياديي المؤسسة في مجال البحوث والتطوير والكادر الإداري لمكاتب البحوث والمراكز البحثية، علاوة عن خريجي البرنامج الذين حصلوا على فرصة مميزة لتبادل الخبرات والأفكار والآراء.
Image 1.jpg
وكانت مؤسسة قطر قد أنشأت برنامج قطر للريادة في العلوم في العام 2008، سعياً منها لتجنيد قاعدة من الموارد البشرية العاملة في مجال البحوث. وبادر البرنامج بتوفير التدريب في مسار إدارة البحوث الذي لاقى نجاحاً كبيراً، فتوسعت دائرة دعم الدراسات ضمن البرنامج لتشمل دراسات الماجستير والدكتوراه في المجالات العلمية، ومن ثم الدراسات الجامعية لمرحلة البكالوريوس، ومؤخراً لدراسات ما بعد الدكتوراه.

يوفر برنامج قطر للريادة في العلوم الدعم حالياً لـ 164 طالباً منخرطين في الدراسات الجامعية حتى مرحلة ما بعد الدكتوراه في مؤسسات دولة قطر التعليمية (كجامعة قطر، والجامعات الشريكة لمؤسسة قطر، وجامعة حمد بن خليفة)، وفي نخبة من الجامعات العالمية المتميزة.

ويستهدف البرنامج الطلاب القطريين وغير القطريين بهدف تحفيزهم على الدراسة ودخول ميدان البحوث لدى انتهاء دراساتهم. كما يسهم في إعداد الطلاب المبتدئين الذين يسعون للحصول على القبول الجامعي، فضلاً عن مساعدة الطلاب المدرجين في البرنامج على إكمال دراساتهم عبر تقديم الفصول التدريبية في ميادين البحوث والتطوير. ويوفر البرنامج نقطة تواصل دائمة توضع في متناول الطلاب الراغبين في الحصول على الإرشاد والدعم، أو الساعين للحصول على وظائف في مجال البحوث بمجرد الانتهاء من الدراسة.

يعتبر برنامج قطر للريادة في العلوم برنامجاً فريداً من نوعه في دولة قطر لكونه الوحيد الذي يدعم الطلاب لمواصلة التحصيل الدراسي في مجال العلوم أو البحوث في المراحل الجامعية المتراوحة بين البكالوريوس وصولاً إلى الدراسات العليا، عبر مجموعة واسعة من التخصصات العلمية، ولدى عدد كبير من مؤسسات التعليم العالي.

ومن هذا المنطلق، يتولى هذا البرنامج بشكل حصري تجنيد الموارد البشرية المناسبة وإعدادها للابتكار بهدف ترجمة البحوث العلمية الأساسية إلى مرحلة التطبيق العملي، ومنه إلى مرحلة الإنتاج أو التصنيع، بما يعود بالفائدة على دولة قطر، وتحسين مستوى الحياة، وفي الوقت نفسه إطلاق مشاريع جديدة وضمان استدامتها.

وبتحقيق هذه الأهداف، يسهم برنامج قطر للريادة في العلوم، المنضوي تحت جهود مؤسسة قطر للبحوث والتطوير، في تحقيق رؤية قطر الوطنية لعام 2030 الرامية إلى الارتقاء باقتصادها إلى اقتصاد معرفي مستند بشكل أساسي على الإبداع والابتكار.

وخلال ورشة العمل، عرض الطلاب العشرة المتخرّجون من برنامج قطر للريادة في العلوم تجاربهم الخاصة، واقترحوا إجراء تقييم داخلي وأفكار أخرى من شأنها دفع عجلة نجاح البرنامج قدماً. فأشاد عبدالرحمن القحطاني، باسم مجموعة الخريجين، بالبرنامج الذي "يعد استثماراً يضمن مستقبل الدولة ولا يندرج ضمن قائمة نفقات فحسب". أما طلال الهذال، وهو خريج آخر يعمل حالياً مع منظمة التعليم فوق الجميع، فيرى أن البرنامج في حد ذاته "مصدر متجدد لرأس المال البشري"، لكونه يقوم بتدريب قادة البحوث والتطوير في المستقبل.

وعرض خريجو البرنامج أفكاراً مقتبسة من تجاربهم الخاصة لتقوية البرنامج في المستقبل، فارتأوا نشر التوعية بالبحوث على نطاق واسع، مستهدفين المدارس والمعلمين وأولياء الأمور والطلاب، بهدف جذب أفضل الطلاب للتدريب على المستوى الجامعي وما بعده. وبمجرد انخراط الطالب في البرنامج، فإنه يحظى بدورات تدريبية وخدمات الإرشاد المهني المعززة لتجربته التدريبية. كما أن إنشاء منتدى على شبكة الإنترنت من شأنه أن يوفر منبراً للمتدرّبين والخرّيجين للتواصل وتبادل النصح والمشورة، وتسوية المشاكل، وتبادل قصص النجاح التي يعيشونها.

وعلى نطاق أوسع، يرى الخريجون بأن مستقبل البرنامج يلبي احتياجات البحوث والتطوير في جميع أنحاء قطر. كما أعربوا عن ضرورة دعم العلوم الاجتماعية والفنون والعلوم الإنسانية، التي تعد واحدة من أربع ركائز رئيسية لاستراتيجية البحوث الوطنية في الدولة. وأشارت هيا الغانم، مدير الابتكار في واحة العلوم والتكنولوجيا في قطر، وواحدة من أوائل الخريجين، إلى ضرورة "إعطاء المتدربين فرص عمل قيادية لكي يتسنى لهم إدخال التغييرات والتحسينات المناسبة."

لقراءة الخبر بالكامل يرجى الضغط هنا

See all results

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

For the latest COVID-19 information and updates from Qatar Foundation, please visit our Statements page

October 21, 2015

Workshops Finds Qatar Foundation’s Research Leadership Programme a Unique Investment Towards Achieving National Vision

Share
Senior officials from Qatar Foundation Research and Development (QF R&D) hosted a workshop recently to discuss past experiences and future opportunities for the Qatar Research Leadership Program (QRLP). The workshop was a great opportunity for QRLP alumni, directors, and managers from different research offices and centers to share their insights.
null
Falling under one of the main pillars of Qatar Foundation (QF), QRLP was established in 2008 to help fill a gap by creating an R&D workforce for the country, beginning with a research management track training program. It remains Qatar’s only program that provides formal training in research management. It has grown to incorporate support for science-oriented masters and doctoral studies, followed by undergraduate and, most recently, post-doctoral studies.

QRLP currently supports 164 students, both nationals and non-nationals, in undergraduate through post-doctoral programs in institutions across Qatar, like Qatar University, Hamad bin Khalifa University, QF’s partner universities, and other elite international universities. It provides support to students to enter, move through, and move beyond the educational pipeline.
It prepares junior students as they seek university admission, and it helps prepare students accepted into the program for their upcoming studies, for example through internships in R&D settings. It also provides students in the program with a constant point of contact for mentorship and support, and it places students in research jobs once they complete their degrees.

QRLP is unique in Qatar: it is the only initiative that enables students to pursue science and research-oriented degrees from undergraduate through graduate levels across a broad range of scientific disciplines and in a broad range of institutions of higher learning. As such, it is the only program to feed the entire pipeline of the innovation value chain, which aims to take basic scientific research to applied and translational research to products or processes that can be used to improve life in Qatar. Therefore, QF’s QRLP is a lynchpin for R&D contributions toward Qatar’s National Vision for 2030, and to transform itself into a knowledge-based economy.

The ten QRLP alumni who participated in the workshop have since reflected on their own experiences. They reported on an internal assessment and ideas to move the program forward. The first finding is that it “is an investment, not merely an expense,” according to Abdulrahman Al-Qahtani, a graduate scholar, who reflected the group’s view that the human capital trained through the initiative should be viewed as a national asset. Another alumnus, Talal Al-Hothal, currently with Education Above All, noted that the program itself is a “renewable source of human capital,” training the participants to be future R&D leaders.

Reflecting on their own experiences, QRLP alumni identified opportunities to strengthen the initiative. Broad and proactive outreach, for example, to schools, teachers, parents, and students, would help attract the best students for research training at university level and beyond. Once in the programme, formal internships and formal career guidance would further students’ training experience. An online forum would provide a platform for current trainees and alumni to network, offer and receive mentorship and advice, solve problems, and share success stories. More broadly, these graduates see the future of the program as serving the wider R&D needs across Qatar, to include QF and beyond.

They also see the need to support social sciences, arts, and humanities, which is one of the four key pillars of the country’s national research strategy. As one of the program’s first graduates, Haya Al-Ghanim, Director of Innovation at Qatar Science Technology Park, noted “Trainees can and should be given opportunities for leadership—to change something or help improve something.”

For the full story, please click here.