الصفحة الرئيسية المركز الإعلامي"ويش" يعقد ورش عمل في جامعة أوكسفورد لاستكشاف الطرق المبتكرة للتعامل مع قضايا الصحة العالمية
May 4, 2019

"ويش" يعقد ورش عمل في جامعة أوكسفورد لاستكشاف الطرق المبتكرة للتعامل مع قضايا الصحة العالمية

مشاركة

: مؤتمر القمة العالمي للابتكار في الرعاية الصحية "ويش"، هي مبادرة من مؤسسة قطر، حيث يجتمع المهتمين من قطر والمملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة لسلسلة قصيرة من الورش التي تمتد لثلاثة أيام وتختص بمناقشة قضايا الصحة العالمية، وذلك في كلية هاريس مانشستر بجامعة أكسفورد.

شارك أكثر من 80 مندوبًا مدعوًا في جلسات بعنوان "مناهج مبتكرة لرعاية وعلاج الخرف" و"الصحة العقلية للمراهقين وعالم الإنترنت" و"الأعمال الخيرية في الرعاية الصحية". وضمت مجموعة من المشاركين من الأكاديميين والباحثين وممارسي الرعاية الصحية والمبتكرين وممثلي الجمعيات الخيرية والمجموعات المهتمة.

ركزّ اليوم الأول من العروض التقديمية وورش العمل على الخرف، وتضمن عرضًا تقديميًا للدكتور عمر الأجنف، المدير التنفيذي لمعهد قطر لبحوث الطب الحيوي في جامعة حمد بن خليفة، عضو مؤسسة قطر، والدكتور رياض مالك، أستاذ الطب بكلية وايل كورنيل للطب – قطر، إحدى الجامعات الشريكة لمؤسسة قطر. وأوضح كل من الدكتور الأجنف والدكتور مالك أهمية العمل الرائد الذي يتم تنفيذه في قطر لتحديد العلامات التي يمكن أن تكشف عن الخرف مبكرًا وشرحا كيف يسهم ذلك الكشف - إذا تم في الوقت المناسب - في تحسين الرعاية المستمرة ونتائجها على المدى الطويل.

وقدم ممثلو جمعية مرض الزهايمر الدولية ومقرها المملكة المتحدة في اليوم الأول عرضًا حول الجهود المبذولة التي يتم تنفيذها على مستوى العالم لدعم الأشخاص المصابين بالخرف ولإيجاد علاج.

كما بدأ اليوم الثاني من السلسلة بعرضٍ لنتائج وتوصيات تقرير"ويش" لعام 2019، حول القلق والاكتئاب الذي شارك في تأليفه توماس كانينج، تلته جلسة للدكتور شيخار ساكسينا، أستاذ الصحة العامة الزائر بجامعة هارفارد مدرسة TH Chan للصحة العامة، بعنوان "الصحة العقلية للشباب والتكنولوجيا: الفوائد المستخلصة".

قبل المشاركة في ورش العمل، استمع المندوبون إلى الدكتور إيفو فلايف، من وحدة الرؤى السلوكية بكلية وورويك للأعمال، حول مفهوم نظرية التحفيز، حيث يتم استخدام اقتراحات خفية وغير مباشرة للتأثير على السلوكيات وكيفية استخدامها للتأثير إيجابيًا على الشباب الذين يواجهون تحديات الصحة العقلية.

تضمن اليوم الأخير عرضين حول موضوع التفاعل بين العمل الخيري والصحة العالمية والذي ركز على أفضل السبل لضمان وصول التبرعات المالية إلى الأشخاص المحتاجين .كما قدم الدكتور روبرت والترز، أحد أمناء جمعية أوربيس الدولية الخيرية، نظرة عامة على العلاقة – المعقدة في بعض الأحيان - بين الجهات المانحة والجمعيات الخيرية، وبعدها قدم كيرت شوكر واللواء مايكل فون بيرتيل من منظمة إنقاذ الطفولة نظرة ثاقبة حول كيفية تعامل جمعيتهما الخيرية مع التبرعات على أساس كل مشروع على حدة.

تميزت الأيام الثلاثة بجلسات تفاعلية، تم خلالها تشجيع المندوبين على المشاركة لإبتكار أفكار جديدة مع إمكانية دفع التفكير الإبداعي حول الموضوع المطروح لكل يوم.

بالإضافة إلى "ويش" ومعهد قطر للأبحاث الطبية الحيوية وكلية وايل كورنيل للطب - قطر، تم تمثيل دولة قطر أيضًا من قبل مندوبين من مؤسسة حمد الطبية.

وصرحت السيدة سلطانة أفضل، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ "ويش"، متحدثًة بعد الحدث: "هذه هي السنة الثانية التي نجري فيها مناقشات تفاعلية في جامعة أكسفورد، وقد وفرّت العروض التقديمية وجلسات العمل لهذا العام للبحوث التي تجري بقطر من خلال "ويش" رؤى قيمة يمكن استخدامها لتشكيل وتطوير أي جهود استكشافية في المستقبل، والتي سنقوم بتنفيذها في ثلاثة مجالات مهمة ذات أهمية ملحة لمقدمي الرعاية الصحية والأشخاص المسؤولين عن صياغة السياسات في جميع أنحاء العالم".

لمزيد من المعلومات حول "ويش"، يرجى زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني: www.wish.org.qa ، والصفحة الرسمية @WISHQatar على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

Home Media CenterWISH Workshops At University Of Oxford Explore Innovative Approaches To Pressing Global Health Issues
May 4, 2019

WISH Workshops At University Of Oxford Explore Innovative Approaches To Pressing Global Health Issues

Share

The World Innovation Summit for Health (WISH), an initiative of Qatar Foundation (QF), recently brought together stakeholders from Qatar, the UK, and the US for a series of three one-day global health workshops at Harris Manchester College at the University of Oxford.

More than 80 invited delegates took part in sessions titled ‘Innovative Approaches to Dementia Care and Cure’, ‘Adolescent Mental Health and the Online World’, and ‘Philanthropy in Healthcare’. Participants included academics, researchers, healthcare practitioners, innovators, and representatives of charities and advocacy groups.

The first day of presentations and workshops focused on dementia, and featured a presentation by Dr. Omar El Agnaf, Executive Director of Qatar Biomedical Research Institute (QBRI), part of Hamad Bin Khalifa University – a member of QF – and Dr. Rayaz Malik, Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medicine-Qatar (WCM-Q) – a QF partner university. Dr. El Agnaf and Dr. Malik outlined the groundbreaking work being carried out in Qatar to identify biomarkers that can detect dementia early and explained how timely detection has been proven to improve both ongoing care and long term outcomes.

Also on day one, representatives of UK-based Alzheimer’s Disease International presented on the advocacy work being done globally to support people with dementia and to find a cure.

The second day of the series started with a presentation of the findings and recommendations of the 2018 WISH report on anxiety and depression by report co-author Thomas Canning, followed by a session by Dr. Shekhar Saxena, Visiting Professor of Public Health at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, titled ‘The Mental Health of Young People and Technology: A Net Benefit’.

Before participating in workshops, delegates heard from Dr. Ivo Vlaev from the Behavioural Insights Unit at Warwick Business School about the ‘nudge’ theory, where subtle and indirect suggestions are used to influence behavior, and how it can be used to positively impact young people facing mental health challenges.

The final day featured two presentations on the topic of the interactions between philanthropy and global health that focused on how best to ensure that financial donations reach the people most in need. Dr. Robert Walters, a trustee of the charity Orbis International, gave his overview of the sometimes complex relationship between donors and charities, after which Kurt Shuker and Major General Michael Von Bertele from Save the Children provided an insight into how their charity deals with philanthropic donations on a project-by-project basis.

All three days featured interactive sessions, during which delegates were encouraged to present novel ideas with the potential to advance innovative thinking around each day’s topic.

In addition to WISH, QBRI, and WCM-Q, Qatar was also represented by delegates from Hamad Medical Corporation.

Speaking after the event, Sultana Afdhal, Chief Executive Officer of WISH, said: “This is the second year we’ve held interactive discussions at the University of Oxford. This year’s presentations and workshop sessions have provided the Qatar-based research team at WISH with extremely valuable insights that can be used to shape and develop any future exploratory efforts we undertake in three important areas of pressing concern for healthcare practitioners and policy makers around the world.”

For further information about WISH, please visit www.wish.org.qa and @WISHQatar on social media.