إظهار جميع النتائج

مستجدات فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

للاطلاع على آخر المعلومات والمستجدات من مؤسسة قطر حول فيروس كورونا، يرجى زيارة صفحة التصريحات الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر

September 16, 2013

مشاريع "روتا" في نيبال تعود بالفائدة على آلاف المواطنين

مشاركة
ROTA_logo.jpgاستفاد الآلاف من سكان نيبال من المبادرة المشتركة لمؤسسة أيادي الخير نحو آسيا (روتا) وفودافون قطر التي امتدت على مدار أربع سنوات في نيبال وهدفت الى تحسين نوعية التعليم وبناء مدارس مقاومة للكوارث الطبيعية.

أنجز المشروع بتكلفة 3 مليون دولار بدعم من جمعية "ميرسي كورب"، الشريك الإستراتيجي الدولي لروتا، وجمعية "اكشن أيد نيبال" وغيرها من المؤسسات المحلية، منها منتدى التوعية والانشطة الشبابية (فايا) وجمعية الصليب الأحمر في نيبال. ويعرف المشروع باسم "تحسين نوعية التعليم وتكيّف المباني المدرسية".

Nepali students (3).jpg ويعتبر نيبال بلد معرّض باستمرار للكوارث والمخاطر الطبيعية، ومن بين 198 بلداً، يأتي في المرتبة 11 و 30 على التوالي من حيث التعرض للزلازل والفيضانات. تسبب الكوارث الطبيعية في كل عام في وفاة حوالي 13000 شخص بالإضافة إلى خسارة كبيرة في الأراضي والبنية التحتية للتعليم. كما تدمر الكوارث الطبيعية المباني المدرسية وتحرم الطلاب من قدرة التوجه إلى المدارس وتحصيل التعليم. وفي كثير من الحالات، تستخدم المجتمعات المدارس كملجأ آمن من الكوارث.

ركزّ مشروع روتا-فودافون المشترك في 22 قرية في مقاطعة كيلالي في غرب نيبال، على برنامج الحد من مخاطر الكوارث، ما ساهم في تحسين حياة آلاف الطلاب والمدرسين في العديد من المدارس منذ بدء المهمة عام 2010.

وقد ظهر تأثير مشروع روتا في نيبال جلياً في يوليو من هذا العام، عندما واجهت نيبال هطول أمطار غزيرة خلال الأسبوع الثالث من يوليو 2013. ونتيجة لذلك، تعرضت الكثير من القرى في الغرب الأقصى للفيضانات وغمرت بالمياه.

ويقول شانتارام تشودري، رئيس مدرسة شري شيفا الثانوية "ساعد التدريب على برنامج الحد من مخاطر الكوارث والذي وفره هذا مشروع روتا-فودافون على الحد من تأثير الفيضانات. إلى جانب الحفر الوهمية للفيضانات، تعلمنا في التدريب حول نظام الإنذار المبكر. عندما بدأت الأمطار بالهطول بغزارة، لم أستطع النوم واتصلت بقارئ مقياس نهر ليكما، فأبلغنا بالإستعداد وتجهيز أنفسنا لاحتمال مواجهة فيضانات شديدة".

وأشار تشودري إلى انه تم الإتصال برئيس البلدة وأبلغ بهذه المعلومات ونشرها بين الجميع في القرية لتجهيز أنفسهم. وأضاف "كل من وصلته هذه المعلومات استطاع الهرب والنجاة من آثار الفيضانات المدمرة، لأنهم جهزوا مبكراً وثائقهم المهمة وأغراضهم القيمة الأخرى".
ووفق شانترام تشودري "حتى الذين يملكون بيوتاً غمرتها المياه لم يتأثروا كثيراً بالفيضانات. لقد جمعوا أغراضهم المهمة من ضمنها المواد الغذائية ونقلوها معهم إلى مدرسة شيفا".

وتابع بالقول "لقد أنقذتنا الحفر الوهمية. ولولاها لكنا فقدنا كل شيء كما حصل معنا في الفيضانات التي ضربت عام 2009. لو لم يزودونا بهذا التدريب، لكانت خسارتنا أكبر الآن. يمكنكم الآن أن تروا بأنه لدينا طعامنا وأغراضنا والوثائق المهمة وحتى بقراتنا بأمان. اذ لم يتعرض أحد للأذى في فيضانات 19 يوليو. لقد أنقذت الحفر الوهمية ونظام الإنذار المبكر حياتنا ومصادر رزقنا".

لقراءة النص الكامل، يرجى الضغط هنا.

See all results

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

For the latest COVID-19 information and updates from Qatar Foundation, please visit our Statements page

September 16, 2013

Thousands Benefit From The ROTA-Vodafone Qatar Project In Nepal

Share
ROTA_logo.jpgThousands of Nepali residents have benefitted from the four-year joint Reach Out To Asia (ROTA) and Vodafone Qatar initiative to improve the quality of education and build resilience to natural disasters into schools in Nepal.

The $3,000,000 project was carried out with support from Mercy Corps, ROTA strategic international partner- Action Aid Nepal, and other local groups including, the Forum for Awareness and Youth Activities (FAYA); and the Nepal Red Cross Society. The project was known as ‘Improving Quality of Education and Building Resilience in Schools’.

Nepali students (3).jpg Nepal is prone to natural hazards. Out of 198 countries, it ranks 11th and 30th respectively with regards to earthquake and flood vulnerability. Each year, resulting disasters cause around 13,000 deaths in addition to significant loss of land and education infrastructure. Natural hazards destroy school buildings, as well as physical access to them. In many cases, schools are used as safe shelter by communities during disasters.

Working in 22 villages in the Kailali District of western Nepal, The Vodafone Qatar-Rota partnership, through the Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) project, has improved the lives thousands of students and teachers in many schools since the mission started in 2010.

The effectiveness of Vodafone Qatar-ROTA project in Nepal was witnessed in July early this year, when the far West Nepal faced heavy rainfall during the third week of July 2013. As a result, many VDCs in the Far West were flooded and inundated.

“The DRR training from the project helped us immensely in reducing the flood impact”, explains the President of Shree Shiva Lower Secondary School, Shantaram Chaudhary. “Apart from the flood mock drill, we had also learnt about the Early Warning System in the trainings, so, when it started to rain heavily, I was unable to sleep and I called the gauge reader of Likma River and we were informed to prepare ourselves, because there would be heavy flooding,” Chaudhary added.

He further explains that he quickly shared this information with his community leader and he relayed this information to everyone in the village so they could all prepare themselves. “Everyone who got this information was able to escape the worst effects of the flood, because they had already safely located their important documents and other valuable items,” said Shantaram Chaudhary.

According to the President of Shree Shiva Lower Secondary School, even people whose houses were inundated by the water were not severely affected by the flood. They had gathered their important materials, including food items, and had taken them to Shiva School.

“We were saved by the mock drills. Otherwise, we would have lost everything, the way we lost it in the 2009 flood. If they had not provided us with this training, I think our losses would have been greater compared to now. Now you can see we have our food, grains, important documents and even our cows and buffalos are safe and no one was injured by the flood on 19th July. Mock drills and the Early Warning System saved our lives and livelihoods”.

For the full story, please click here.