إظهار جميع النتائج

مستجدات فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

للاطلاع على آخر المعلومات والمستجدات من مؤسسة قطر حول فيروس كورونا، يرجى زيارة صفحة التصريحات الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر

August 21, 2016

تطور ملحوظ في مهارات الرياضيات لدى طلاب تكساس إي أند أم

مشاركة
شهد الطلبة القطريون الذين سيُباشرون دراسة الهندسة في جامعة تكساس إي أند أم في قطر تطوراً كبيرا في معرفتهم ومهاراتهم في الرياضيات بفضل برنامج مسارات استبقاء الطلبة في البرامج الهندسية (PREP) وذلك وفقا لدرجات الاختبار التي حصلوا عليها في نهاية البرنامج.
810_0822.jpg
وبشكل عام، تحسنت درجات امتحانات الطلبة بمعدل يفوق 40% منذ بداية البرنامج وحتى نهايته وهو ما يؤكد نجاح مثل هذه المبادرة.

وقد قام على تدريس البرنامج الذي استمر لمدة اسبوعين منذ 31 يوليو حتى 11 أغسطس 2016 الدكتورة ساندرا نايت من قسم الرياضيات في جامعة تكساس الأم الواقعة في كولج ستيشن في ولاية تكساس في الولايات المتحدة.

ويستهدف البرنامج الطلبة الجدد الذين يسعون لتطوير مهاراتهم في مادة الرياضيات قبل بدء دراستهم في المرحلة الجامعية. كما يتضمن البرنامج تعليمات مكثفة في مواضيع مادة الرياضيات مثل وظائف وعلم المثلثات، والنظم الخطية والميكانيكا.

وفي تعليق الدكتورة نايت على التقدم الذي حققه الطلبة قالت " لقد أبدى الطلبة اهتماما شديدا ومشاركة فعالة في البرنامج وتحسنوا بشكل لافت حيث أصبح لديهم أفكارا أفضل حول المفاهيم التي ينطوي عليها ما كانوا يقومون به من تدريبات".

وقالت الدكتورة نايت بأنها شعرت بكثير من السعادة بعد أن قامت بتدريس طلبة من قطر " لقد استمتعت وأنا أرى الطلبة يتحدثون عن الأشياء التي تعلموها"، وأضافت " إنه لأمر في غاية السرور أن تشاهد الطلبة وهم يتناقشون في أمر معين أو أن ترى قدرتهم على التغلب على الصعوبات وسد تلك الفجوات بالمعرفة".

لقراءة الخبر بالكامل يرجى الضغط هنا

August 21, 2016

TAMUQ PREP Program Improves Incoming Students’ Math Skills

Share
Qatari engineering students enrolling at Texas A&M University at Qatar posted significant improvements in their mathematics knowledge and skills through Pathways for Retention in Engineering Programs (PREP), according to examination scores at the conclusion of the program.
810_0822.jpg
Overall, the students improved their exam scores by an average of more than 40 percent from the beginning to the end of the program, reflecting the success of the initiative.

The PREP course, which ran 31 July through 11 Aug., was taught by Dr. Sandra Nite of Aggie STEM and the Department of Mathematics at Texas A&M’s main campus in College Station, Texas, USA.

PREP is part of the Dhia: Engineering Leaders initiative, a partnership between Texas A&M at Qatar and longtime collaborator, Maersk Oil Qatar, that aims to help young Qataris to choose and succeed in educational pathways in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM), which are critical to the success of the Qatar National Vision 2030.

PREP was designed for incoming freshmen who sought to improve their math skills before starting university engineering studies. The program comprised intense instruction in math topics such as functions, trigonometry, linear systems and mechanics.

In addition to the math course, the students took academic success seminars designed to enhance their study skills and habits, while also introducing them to the numerous on-campus academic resources they will have at their disposal.

For the full story, please click here.