إظهار جميع النتائج

مستجدات فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

للاطلاع على آخر المعلومات والمستجدات من مؤسسة قطر حول فيروس كورونا، يرجى زيارة صفحة التصريحات الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر

April 28, 2015

مركز السدرة للطب والبحوث يختتم بنجاح أعمال المؤتمر الأول للعلاج المناعي لسرطان الثدي

مشاركة
اختتم مركز السدرة للطب والبحوث مؤخرًا في الدوحة أعمال المؤتمر الأول للعلاج المناعي لسرطان الثدي. وجاءت هذه الفعالية التي استمرت ليومين كجزء من سلسلة ندوات السدرة. وقد شاركت “جمعية العلاج المناعي للسرطان” في عقد هذا المؤتمر الذي حضره أكثر من 350 من الباحثين والأطباء والعلماء.
اختتام المؤتمر الأول للعلاج المناعي لسرطان الثدي
قَدَّمَ الخبراء الذين حضروا المؤتمر عروضا مفصلة عن التطورات التي تمت في التجارب السريرية وما قبل السريرية في بحوث سرطان الثدي. كما قامت الدكتورة صالحة بوجسوم من مؤسسة حمد الطبية في قطر، والدكتور لطفي شوشاني من كلية طب وايل كورنيل في قطر، والبروفيسور حمودة بوسن من معهد صالح مامي في تونس، بإلقاء الضوء على وضع سرطان الثدي في قطر والعالم العربي.

وكان من بين المشاركين المحليين الذين قدموا عروضا في المؤتمر السيدة ثناء سعيد التي قدمت شرحا عن برنامج تمويل البحوث الطبية في قطر وخارجها الذي يقدمه الصندوق القطري لرعاية البحث العلمي. كما شرح السيد ميشيل تشيكاريللي كبير العلماء في معهد قطر لبحوث الحوسبة كيفية استخدام تحليل البيانات الطبية في تحديد الضوابط الرئيسية الجديدة لسرطان الثدي الالتهابي.
Sidra-Logo-RGB-L-9.jpg
وقدمت البروفيسورة ليشا ايمينز من كلية طب جون هوبكينز بالولايات المتحدة نتائج احدى التجارب السريرية التي تظهر نشاط عامل العلاج المناعي الجديد (المضاد لمجموعة PD-1) في سرطان الثدي المنتشر في الجسم. وأشار الدكتور بيدونيتي إلى أنه: “بالرغم من أن هذه التجربة المبكرة قد أجريت على عدد محدود من المرضى، إلا أنها تجربة واعدة للغاية نظرا لأن 33 بالمائة من المرضى استجابوا للعلاج المناعي وكانت استجابتهم دائمة، وهو ما يخبرنا بأن علينا مواصلة هذا النهج الرائع في علاج سرطان الثدي”.

وقد شهد مؤتمر العلاج المناعي لسرطان الثدي مراسم توزيع جوائز “جمعية العلاج المناعي للسرطان” التي يتم تقديمها إلى الباحثين الشباب في مجال العلاج المناعي للسرطان. ويتم منح الجوائز تقديرا للتميز في البحوث الجديدة المقدمة في الأوراق والملخصات البحثية التي جرى تقديمها أثناء مؤتمر العلاج المناعي لسرطان الثدي. وقد شمل هذا العام ستة باحثين من بلجيكا وايطاليا وقطر وسويسرا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

لقراءة النص الكامل على الموقع الإلكتروني لمركز السدرة للطب والبحوث، يرجى الضغط هنا.

See all results

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

For the latest COVID-19 information and updates from Qatar Foundation, please visit our Statements page

April 28, 2015

Sidra Medical and Research Center Successfully Concludes First Conference Dedicated To Breast Cancer Immunotherapy

Share
Sidra Medical and Research Center concluded BRECIS, the first conference dedicated to breast cancer immunotherapy in Doha recently.
Abstract Travel Awards winners
The two day event, organized by Sidra and part of the popular Sidra Symposia Series, was held in partnership with the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer (SITC). It attracted more than 350 researchers, clinicians, allied health specialists and scientists.

Key highlights from the conference included detailed presentations related to pre-clinical and clinical trial developments in breast cancer research with insights provided on breast cancer in Qatar and in the wider Arab population from experts such as Dr Salha Boujassoum from HMC (Qatar); Dr Lotfi Chouchane from Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar and Prof. Hammouda Boussen from Institut Salah Azaiz (Tunisia).

“We are no longer spectators but have actually joined the ranks in the global race to improve treatment for aggressive diseases such as breast cancer,” said Davide Bedognetti, the Director of Tumor Biology, Immunology and Therapy Section, Sidra Medical and Research Center, who also chaired the conference.

Other local presenters at BRECIS included Ms. Thenaa Said who outlined Qatar National Research Fund’s funding program for medical research in Qatar and beyond while Mr. Michele Ceccarelli, Senior Scientist from QCRI highlighted how medical data is analyzed in identifying novel master regulators of inflammatory breast cancer.
Sidra-Logo-RGB-L-9.jpg
Prof. Leisha Emens from John Hopkins Medicine (USA) presented the results of one of the first two trials showing the activity of a novel immunotherapeutic agent (anti-PD1 ligand) in metastatic breast cancer. “Although this is an early trial conducted in a limited number of patients, it is extremely promising as 33 percent of patients responded to immunotherapy, and the responses were very durable. It tells us that we have to push forward and further continue this fascinating approach in a breast cancer setting,” noted Dr Bedognetti.

BRECIS also hosted the Abstract Travel Awards which are offered to young investigators in the field of cancer immunotherapy. The awards recognize excellence in novel research presented in submitted abstracts which were presented during BRECIS. This year featured six investigators from Belgium, Italy, Qatar, Switzerland and the United States of America.

To read the full article on Sidra’s website, please click here.