إظهار جميع النتائج

مستجدات فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19)

للاطلاع على آخر المعلومات والمستجدات من مؤسسة قطر حول فيروس كورونا، يرجى زيارة صفحة التصريحات الخاصة بمؤسسة قطر

July 24, 2019

خبراء يتوصلون إلى توصيات حول فوائد العولمة في برنامج مناظرات الدوحة بقمة "تيد"

مشاركة

عقدت مناظرات الدوحة، إحدى مبادرات مؤسسة قطر، اليوم نقاشًا حول مزايا العولمة ونتائجها ومستقبلها، وذلك في إطار مؤتمر قمة "تيد" في إدنبرة، اسكتلندا.

وقد صممت مناظرات الدوحة هذا البرنامج في سبيل جمع وجهات نظر مختلفة لخبراء من حول العالم، حيث توصل المشاركون بمساعدة خبراء في حل النزاعات إلى توصيات من شأنها ضمان استفادة الجميع من فوائد العولمة.

وشمل البرنامج أسئلة واقتراحات طرحها الجمهور، وانضم إليه الملايين حول العالم عبر البث المباشر على منصة تويتر. وضم المتحدثون في النقاش، باراغ خانا، وهو رئيس تنفيذي هندي-أميركي، وكاتب وخبير استراتيجي عالمي، وسيسونكي مسيمانغ، وهي كاتبة من جنوب أفريقيا تركز في أعمالها على مواضيع العرق والجنس والمساواة، وميديا بنجامين، التي شاركت في تأسيس منظمة "كود بينك" الشعبية الأميركية التي تتميز بقياداتها النسائية.

صورة 1 من 2

ومن المشاركين أيضاً في النقاش، غوفيندا كلايتون، الذي مثّل حلقة الوصل لبناء الجسور والتوافق بين المتحدثين، إضافة إلى غيدا فخري التي أدارت جلسة النقاش، والمراسلة الرقمية نيلوفار هدايات التي أطلعت الحضور على أسئلة وتعليقات المشاهدين حول العالم الذين تابعوا النقاش عبر البث الإلكتروني المباشر.

وخلال الحوار، أقرّ خانا بالتحديات المرتبطة بالعولمة، إلا أنه لفت في الوقت عينه قائلًا: "إن رد الفعل الذي نتحدث عنه اليوم ليس موجهًا ضد العولمة، بل ضد الحكومات التي فشلت في إدارة هذه الظاهرة لصالح المجتمعات".

من جهتها، عبّرت بنجامين عن الجوانب المقلقة من العولمة، قائلًة: "إن العولمة تمنح الكثير من القوة للشركات الكبرى متعددة الجنسيات التي تقضي على الشركات المحلية، وتعزز عدم المساواة، وتتلف الحركات الديمقراطية، وتبطل القوانين المحلية، وتتخذ قرارات تؤثر على حياة المليارات من الناس".

وبدورها، وصفت مسيمانغ العولمة بـ "الستار الدخاني" الذي يخفي القضايا الأساسية الحقيقية ويطغى عليها. وشجعت الأفراد أينما كانوا حول العالم على التحرك في مجتمعهم المحلي، قائلًة: "إن التعبير عن آمالكم ومخاوفكم أفضل بكثير من الحديث عن هذه المسألة المجردة التي تعرف بـالعولمة".

وصوّت الحضور مباشرة في الاستديو وعبر الإنترنت مرتين على مسائل أساسية ترتبط بالعولمة.

وخلال التصويت الأول، عبر مسيمانغ، الفائز بالمركز الأول، عن موقفه بعبارة: "ليكن مفهومًا، وملموسًا وليس مجردًا. تحركوا"، وقد حاز على 41 في المائة من أصوات الجمهور. أما موقف بنجامين فقد كان: "فكروا على نطاق عالمي وتحركوا على نطاق محلي"، وموقف خانا: "العولمة لا تفشل. نحن من نفشل"، فحصدا بالتتالي 29.48 و29.27 في المائة من الأصوات.

وبعد فقرة "المجلس" التي تهدف إلى تحقيق توافق وتقريب وجهات النظر، صوّت الجمهور في قمة "تيد" والمشاهدون حول العالم مرة أخرى. فتفوق خانا على بنجامين بــ 35 في المائة من الأصوات، فيما بقيت مسيمانغ في الطليعة مع 39 في المائة من الأصوات. وسيستمر التصويت عبر @DohaDebates على تويتر لمدة سبعة أيام.

وقد شارك طلاب جامعات المدينة التعليمية التابعة لمؤسسة قطر آراءهم مع الحضور في قمة إدنبرة، وعُرض الحدث مباشرة في مكتبة قطر الوطنية التي استضافت أيضًا محادثة بعد ختام النقاش حول ميزات العولمة وسلبياتها.

وفي هذا السياق، قال أمجد عطالله، المدير الإداري لمناظرات الدوحة: "لقد حقق هذا البرنامج نجاحًا باهرًا بفضل المتحدثين الاستثنائيين، وتفاعل الحضور والمشاركين من حول العالم وشراكتنا المميزة مع ʼتيدʻ. واستقطبت مناظرات الدوحة سريعًا متابعين من 215 دولة ومنطقة، ويشير ذلك إلى أن الأفراد في كل مكان يتطلعون إلى حوار حول المواضيع الشيّقة في عصرنا الحالي يركز على الحلول المحتملة، وهذه فعلًا السمة المميزة التي سنقدمها لهم من خلال مناظرات الدوحة".

يمكن مشاهدة النقاش بأكمله والاطلاع على أبرز ما تناوله من أفكار على الموقع الإلكتروني لمناظرات الدوحة وعلى قنوات مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي الخاصة بها، حيث سيتابع الحوار عبر هاشتاغ #DearWorld.

تنطلق مناظرات الدوحة بنسختها المحدثة من تقليد رُسّخ في الانطلاقة الأولى لمناظرات الدوحة قبل 14 عامًا، ويتناول القضايا العالمية المعقدة من خلال المناقشات المباشرة، ومقاطع الفيديو الرقمية، والمسلسلات التلفزيونية، والمدونات، وبرامج الإذاعة الصوتية حول التحديات العالمية الأكثر إلحاحًا. ويشمل هذا النهج المبتكر مناقشات على غرار مجالس صُممت لردم الاختلافات في وجهات النظر، وبناء توافق وتحديد حلول للقضايا العالمية الملحة.

يجري الحدث المباشر المقبل لمناظرات الدوحة في 10 سبتمبر في كيب تاون بجنوب أفريقيا، ويركز على موضوع أزمة شحّ المياه حول العالم.

July 24, 2019

Experts Strive for Consensus on Globalization During Doha Debates Program at TEDSummit

Share

Experts from diverse perspectives argued the merits, consequences, and future of globalization in a solutions-focused Doha Debates program today. A production of Qatar Foundation (QF), the debate was held at the TEDSummit 2019 conference in Edinburgh, Scotland.

The debate’s participants, with the help of a conflict resolution expert, bridged differences, found common ground, and agreed on recommendations to help ensure globalization benefits all.

The program included questions and suggestions from audience members in person, as well as millions of people around the world watching the debate via a Twitter livestream.

Image 1 of 2

The debate’s speakers were Parag Khanna, an Indian-American CEO, international strategist, and author; Sisonke Msimang, a South African writer whose work focuses on race, gender, and equality; and Medea Benjamin, co-founder of the women-led American grassroots advocacy organization CODEPINK.

The program also featured bridge-building “connector” Govinda Clayton, moderator Ghida Fakhry, and digital correspondent Nelufar Hedayat, who shared questions and comments from livestream viewers around the world.

During the debate, Khanna acknowledged globalization’s challenges while arguing “the backlash that we talk about today is not against globalization, but rather the governments that have failed to manage it for the benefit of their societies.”

Benjamin expressed greater concern, saying, “Globalization gives too much power to big, multinational corporations that destroy local businesses, exacerbate inequalities, crush democratic movements, overturn local regulations, and make decisions that affect the lives of billions of people.”

Msimang argued that globalization is a “smokescreen,” a polarizing term that muddles and overshadows the true underlying issues. She encouraged people everywhere to take action locally, adding “talking about your hopes and fears is a far better starting point than talking about this abstract thing called ‘globalization.’”

The debate’s in-person and online audiences voted twice on key globalization questions.

During the first vote, Msimang’s position, ‘Make it concrete, not abstract. Stand up’, was the clear winner, with 41.35% of the audience’s votes. Benjamin’s position, ‘Think globally and act locally’, and Khanna’s position, ‘Globalization doesn’t fail. We do’, came in at 29.48% and 29.27% respectively.

After the Majlis segment, which builds consensus and bridges divides, the audience at TEDSummit and around the world voted a second time. Khanna surpassed Benjamin with 35% of the vote, yet Msimang maintained her lead with 39% of the vote. The poll will remain live on Twitter @DohaDebates for the next seven days.

QF Education City university students were among the attendees in Edinburgh, and the debate was shown at Qatar National Library, where, following the conclusion of the event, a discussion was held on the pros and cons of globalization.

Amjad Atallah, Managing Director, Doha Debates, said, “This program was a phenomenal success, thanks to our terrific speakers, engaged attendees and viewers around the world, and our remarkable partnership with TED. With Doha Debates quickly garnering followers in 215 nations and territories, it’s clear that people everywhere are eager for solutions-focused dialogue on the hot topics of our time – Doha Debates’ hallmark – which we will deliver for them.”

The full debate and highlights can be viewed on Doha Debates’ website and social media channels, with the conversation continuing using the hashtag #DearWorld.

The revitalized Doha Debates builds on the tradition of examining complex global issues, established by Doha Debates’ original launch 14 years ago, through live debates, digital videos, a TV series, blogs, and podcasts on the world’s most pressing challenges. This innovative approach includes Majlis-style conversations designed to bridge differences, build consensus, and identify solutions to urgent global issues.

The next live Doha Debates program is scheduled for September 10 in Cape Town, South Africa, with the global water shortage crisis set as the debate topic.