الحياة في دولة قطر

سواءً أتيت إلى دولة قطر للعمل أو الدراسة أو لزيارة عابرة، ستتمتع بتجربة العيش ضمن مجتمع نابض بالحياة يعمل يدًا بيد من أجل المضيّ ببلادنا نحو آفاق جديدة.

مقدمة

01

الحياة في دولة قطر مزيجٌ من الحداثة والتقاليد المستمدّة من ثقافتنا العريقة؛ فبينما تكتسي مدننا بطابع حديث متطور يتجلّى في المرافق والبنية التحتية، ما زال تراثنا وتقاليدنا وثقافتنا متجسّدين في كل ما نقوم به، وفي جميع التفاصيل المحيطة بنا.

كيف ينعكس هذا التمازج الفريد على حياتنا اليومية؟ يمكنك مثلًا التوجه إلى عملك في إحدى المنشآت الحضرية فائقة التطور، ثم قضاء عطلة نهاية الأسبوع على الكثبان الرملية في صحراء قطر الشاسعة، أو الاستمتاع بالتخييم تحت سماء الليل المرصّعة بالنجوم في وجهات مميزة تقع على مقربة من المدينة التعليمية.

بيئة تناسب شتى التطلعات

02

الدوحة مدينةٌ بُنيت لتلبية احتياجات اليوم، وتحقيق رؤية الغد. فيما يلي بعض ما يميز هذه المدينة.

01

أسلوب حياة يلائم الجميع

يقوم أسلوب الحياة في دولة قطر على الراحة والرفاه، فهي من أكثر الدول أمانًا في العالم، بالإضافة إلى توفيرها لنظام رعاية صحيّ هو الأعلى تصنيفًا في منطقة الشرق الأوسط يقدم خدماته للمواطنين والمقيمين على حدّ سواء. يتمتع مجتمع دولة قطر بمرافق متنوعة تضمن لهم الأمان والرفاه، من بينها منشآت طبية متطورة، وأماكن إقامة فاخرة، وخدمات للرعاية تتسم بالكفاءة.

02

مدينة تحتضن ثقافات شتّى

يجسّد الشعب المقيم على أرض قطر تقاليدنا وقيمنا الراسخة المتمثلة في التعاون والعطف والتسامح والرحمة. ويمثل الوافدون من خارج دولة قطر نسبة كبيرة من السكان، حيث يشاركون مواطني دولة قطر رؤيتهم التحويلية للدولة. نرحّب في مجتمعنا بأشخاص من شتى أنحاء دول العالم ممن يعتنقون أديانًا مختلفة ويعتزون بثقافات متنوعة، ولذا فتقديم الدعم لهم وتعزيز قبولهم في المجتمع على رأس أولويّاتنا ليشعر كل وافد لدولتنا أنه وسط أهله وأقاربه.

03

بوابتك نحو العالم

تقع دولة قطر في موقع استراتيجي في إحدى أكثر المناطق ازدهارًا وأسرعها نموًا في العالم، كما تتميز بوجودها في مفترق الطرق بين آسيا وإفريقيا وأوروبا. وسواءً كنت تخطط للسفر في رحلة عمل أو لزيارة عائلتك أو للسياحة، ستتمتع بسهولة الوصول إلى شتى أنحاء العالم من خلال مطار حمد الدولي الحائز على جوائز، والذي يحتضن أيضًا الخطوط الجوية القطرية، إحدى أسرع شبكات الطيران نموًّا في العالم.

04

أرض تزخر بالفرص

تسفر أوجه التقدم والتوسعات الجديدة في دولة قطر عن فرص جديدة كل يوم؛ فهي دولة في نموّ دائم تقودها رؤية واضحة وهي رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، وتمضي بها في طريق من التطور والازدهار ما يمكّنها من استضافة مشروعات عالمية رائدة مثل بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022 التي تعقد لأول مرة في الشرق الأوسط.

05

بيئة تعتنق الحداثة وتحافظ على الثقافة

في دولة قطر، نتبنّى الحداثة العالمية، وندعم الفن والثقافة المحلية في الوقت ذاته. وتنتشر في شتى ربوع الدولة مؤسسات ثقافية وفنية متنوعة كالمتاحف والمعارض الفنية ومراكز الموسيقى والتراث التي لا تعرض التاريخ القطري والتقاليد الإسلامية فحسب، بل تنمّي شغف الفن والإبداع في نفوس الجميع.

تقاليدنا

03

تعرّف على أبرز العادات والتقاليد القطرية.

صورة 1 من 11

تعد القهوة في دولة قطر تعبيرًا عن الضيافة، حتى أصبحت "الدلّة" بشكلها المميّز رمزًا لحسن الضيافة والكرم. تُطحن القهوة طازجةً ثم يضاف إليها الهيل وتقدم في فناجين صغيرة يأخذها الضيف باليد اليمنى. يستمر المُضيف في صب القهوة حتى يشير الضيف باكتفائه بتحريك الفنجان بلطف يمنةً ويسرة.

استخدمَت السيدات القطريات الحنّاء بغرض التجميل لمئات السنين، والحنّاء هي صبغة بنية مائلة إلى الاحمرار تُستخرج من الأوراق المسحوقة. يشيع استخدام الحنّاء حتى يومنا هذا لتزيين اليدين والقدمين بأشكال فنية متداخلة ومتناغمة، وخاصةً في المناسبات، كحفلات الزفاف وغيرها من الاحتفالات، كما يمكن استخدامها أيضًا كصبغة للشعر.

العرضة هي رقصة شعبية تنطوي على حركات متناغمة يؤديها الرجال على وقع طبول يدوية تقليدية. تكتسي تلك الحركات بطابع رسمي شامخ؛ حيث يحمل الرجال سيوفهم ويرتدون أحزمتهم ما يعكس أصول العرضة كرقصة للحرب. أما اليوم، تؤدَّى هذه الرقصة في حفلات الزفاف وغيرها من الاحتفالات المجتمعية.

كان الغوص لاستخراج اللؤلؤ أحد مصادر الدخل الرئيسية لشعب دولة قطر لأجيال عدّة قبل اكتشاف النفط، حيث كانت المياه حول شبه الجزيرة تزخر بأجود أنواع اللآلئ، فعكف سكان المجتمعات المحلية على استخراج المحار من قاع البحر، إلى أن خفت بريق تلك الصناعة بظهور اللؤلؤ الصناعي.

الخط العربي هو شكل من أشكال الفن الإبداعي في دولة قطر والدول الإسلامية الأخرى، ويتضمن زخرفة نصوص، عادةً ما تكون آيات من القرآن الكريم. يتجلّى فن الخط اليوم في أشكال عدّة في دولة قطر، فنجده على الورق والبلاط والسجاد واللوح الجدارية والنقوش المختلفة.

انتشر استخدام النقش على الجبس في الماضي لتزيين المباني والمنشآت المعمارية، نظرًا لما يتمتع به من خواص تتيح تشكيله ونقشه بسهولة على يد حرفيين مهرة، كما يمكن إيجاده بشكل طبيعي في دولة قطر، ما نتج عنه ظواهر جيولوجية كوردة الصحراء والكهوف العميقة.

المجلس هو مكان منفصل مخصص لاستقبال الزوّار وتقديم القهوة والمأكولات الخفيفة، ويعدّ المجلس عنصرًا جوهريًا في أساليب الضيافة والكرم المعروف عن المجتمع العربي التقليدي، فلطالما رحّب العرب بالضيوف المسافرين لمشاركة الطعام والشراب، وما زال المجتمع القطري الحديث يحتفظ بتقليد الضيافة في المجلس حتى يومنا هذا.

يُمارس العديد من القطريين رياضة القنص بالصقور خلال فصل الشتاء الذي يعد أيضًا موسمًا للقنص، حيث يبذلون جهدهم لتدريب صغار الصقور وبناء علاقة وثيقة بين المدرّب وطيره، أما الفريسة فهي الحبارة في طريق هجرتها إلى الجنوب في فصل الشتاء.

ينتشر استخدام العود أو البخور في دولة قطر والمنطقة، وهو خشب تضاف إليه زيوت عطرية ثم يعرّض للحرارة في مبخرة لينبعث دخانه الغني ليعطر المنازل والملابس، وعادةً ما يُدعى الزوار إلى "التبخُّر" كشكل من أشكال الضيافة.

السدو هو حرفة يدوية عريقة احترفتها سيدات دولة قطر، وتتضمن حياكة شعر الإبل والماعز لصناعة السجّاد البدوي التقليدي والخيام والوسائد. كما تستخدم السيّدات جهاز نسج يدوي مصنوع من الخشب يطلق عليه اسم "النول".

يحفل تاريخ دولة قطر بسباقات الهجن ورياضات الفروسية، فهو تقليد يدخل في صميم المجتمع القطري، ولذا تشهد الدولة تنظيم العديد من الفعاليات الوطنية والعالمية للاحتفاء بهذه الرياضة، كما تشتهر دولة قطر بخيولها العربية التي يُربّى العديد منها في الشقب بمؤسسة قطر.

الوجهات السياحية

04

تعرّف على أبرز الوجهات السياحية في دولة قطر.

صورة 1 من 7

يعكس الحي الثقافي "كتارا" إرث الفن المعماري في المنطقة، كما تحفل مسارحه الرائعة وقاعات العرض فيه بعروض الأداء المختلفة على مدار العام، لتشمل الحفلات الموسيقية والعروض والمعارض الفنية.

أُدرجت الزبارة على قائمة التراث العالمي لمنظمة اليونسكو، وتتألف من ثلاثة أجزاء رئيسية أكبرها البقايا الأثرية للمدينة التي يعود تاريخها إلى ستينيات القرن الثامن عشر (1760). أما قلعة "مرير" فهي مستوطنة مترابطة بمدينة الزبارة الأولى، حُصّنت من أجل حماية الآبار الداخلية للمدينة، بينما تعد قلعة الزبارة التي شيدت عام 1938 أحدث تلك العناصر وأبرزها.

كورنيش الدوحة هو منتزه ذو واجهة مائية يمتد حول خليج الدوحة على مساحة سبعة كيلومترات. يوفر الكورنيش إطلالات خلّابة على المدينة تشمل الأبراج الشاهقة ومركز أعمال المدينة، والمجسمات البارزة لمتحف الفن الإسلامي، كما تعكس القوارب الخشبية التقليدية المتجولة في مياه الخليج الصافية سحر ماضي المدينة وعبق تاريخها.

لا شيء يضاهي التجول في الأزقة المزدحمة لسوق واقف، فهو مكان مثالي للاستمتاع بأجواء التجارة التقليدية والعمارة والثقافة المحلية. توفر المتاجر الصغيرة باقةً مذهلة من المنتجات التي تشتهر بها منطقة الشرق الأوسط من البهارات والمأكولات الموسمية كالتمور الطازجة والمكسرات، إلى العطور والمجوهرات البرّاقة والملابس، فضلًا عن المشغولات التقليدية ومجموعة متنوعة من الهدايا التذكارية.

اللؤلؤة-قطر هي جزيرة اصطناعية صمّمت على ساحل الخليج الغربي وتمتاز بموانئ تصطف فيها اليخوت على نسق مراسي الشرق الأوسط، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الأبراج السكنية الفخمة والفيلات والفنادق ذات الشهرة العالمية، إضافةً إلى المتاجر الفاخرة والمعارض المتميزة التي تقدم منتجات أرقى العلامات التجارية العالمية.

عمل المعماري الشهير آي إم بي على تصميم متحف الفن الإسلامي ليصبح أحد المتاحف الرائدة عالميًّا التي تضم كنوز الفن الإسلامي. تشمل مجموعات المتحف الحائزة على جوائز لوحات مميزة، ومقتنيات زجاجية ومعدنية وخزفية، ومنسوجات ومخطوطات.

بافتتاحه في 2019، يشكل متحف قطر الوطني مكانًا يحتضن تاريخ دولة قطر، ويحتفي بثقافتها ومستقبلها. يتسع المتحف ليضم 11 معرضًا مرتبًا ترتيبًا زمنيًّا، حيث يبدأ بمعرض حول التاريخ الطبيعي وينتهي بمعارض تخط قصة رحلة دولة قطر نحو الحداثة.

الأسئلة المتكررة

05

أسئلة حول الحياة في دولة قطر

  • سؤال:كيف يعمل نظام المواصلات العامة في دولة قطر؟
    جواب:

    "مواصلات" هي الشركة المكلفة بتأمين خدمات النقل العام في قطر، وتدير أسطولًا من الحافلات يجوب معظم أنحاء الدوحة. غير أن هذه الخدمة تشهد إقبالًا كبيرًا يتسبب غالبًا في اكتظاظ الحافلات، كما أن معدل تقاطرها قد يختلف من مكان إلى آخر. ونظرًا لأن عملية انتظار الحافلات قد تكون غير مريحة، لا سيّما تحت أشعة الشمس في أشهر الصيف، يفضل معظم موظفي مؤسسة قطر وسائل أخرى لتنقلاتهم. يمكنك العثور على المزيد من المعلومات حول المسارات، والأسعار، والمواعيد المتعلقة بوسائل النقل التابعة لشركة "مواصلات" من خلال زيارة موقعها الإلكتروني: www.mowasalat.com/Arabic

    يجري حاليًا إنجاز مشروع "مترو الدوحة"، الذي يُشيد على مرحلتين: الأولى ستشهد تجهيز ثلاثة من الخطوط الأربعة (الأحمر والذهبي والأخضر)، و37 محطة وقوف. ومن المرتقب أن تبدأ هذه الخطوط في نقل الركاب بحلول عام 2020. فيما تتضمن المراحل المستقبلية إنجاز خط إضافي (الأزرق)، وتطوير الخطوط المتواجدة، بإنشاء أكثر من 60 محطة إضافية، على أن يتم الانتهاء من أشغال التطوير الأولى بحلول عام 2026.

  • سؤال:ما الأنشطة الترفيهية التي يمكن ممارستها في مدينة الدوحة؟
    جواب:

    توجد الكثير من المرافق الترفيهية ومراكز اللياقة الصحية في الدوحة. كما تتيح العديد من الفنادق برامج رياضية مفتوحة أمام الجمهور تعنى بالصحة والرفاهية، مثل تمارين الرشاقة، واللياقة البدنية، وعلاجات السبا، واليوجا، والبيلاتس. وهناك أيضًا العديد من الاتحادات والمراكز الرياضية في شتى الرياضات مثل كرة السلة، والبيسبول، والبولينج، وركوب الدراجات، والمبارزة، والهوكي، والجولف، والفروسية. كما يمكنك أثناء وجودك بالدوحة الاستمتاع بفعاليات أخرى في مجالات ترفيهية متنوعة كالكوميديا والرقص والدراما والموسيقى. إلى جانب ذلك، تقام العديد من الفعاليات الكبرى على مدار العام، بعضها في أهم المراكز الثقافية في البلاد، كالحي الثقافي "كتارا"، واللؤلؤة، والخليج الغربي.

    اعرف المزيد عن الحياة في قطر.

  • سؤال:ما طبيعة الطقس في دولة قطر؟
    جواب:

    تتميز دولة قطر بطقس لطيف خلال فصل الشتاء، فيما يكون حارًا ورطبًا خلال فصل الصيف. متوسط درجات الحرارة خلال النهار في فصل الشتاء يتراوح ما بين 20 و35 درجة مئوية (68 إلى 95 درجة فهرنهايت)، وقد تكون باردة نسبيًا خلال الليل. لذا، سوف تحتاج إلى ارتداء سترة أو معطف خفيف خلال فصل الشتاء. بينما قد ترتفع الحرارة في فصل الصيف لتصل إلى 50 درجة مئوية (122 درجة فهرنهايت).

  • سؤال:ما قواعد الملبس في دولة قطر؟
    جواب:

    قطر دولة إسلامية، ويُتوقع من جميع الزوّار والمقيمين مراعاة تقاليد البلاد وعاداتها. يحرص أبناء دولة قطر على ارتداء الزي التقليدي؛ الثوب، فيما ترتدي النساء العباءة. وفي سياق احترام العادات والتقاليد المحلية، لا بد للمقيمين والزوّار ارتداء ملابس محتشمة تغطي الأكتاف والركبتين.

  • سؤال:إذا كان لدي رخصة قيادة سيارة من دولة أخرى، هل يمكنني استخدامها في قطر؟
    جواب:

    إذا أتيت إلى قطر بتأشيرة زيارة، يمكنك استخدام رخصة قيادة صادرة من بلد آخر لقيادة سيارة لمدة سبعة أيام، شريطة أن تكون المركبة مستأجرة. يجوز للسائق الذي يحمل رخصة دولية قيادة مركبة مستأجرة لمدة تصل إلى ستة أشهر، أو إلى أن يتم تغيير نوع التأشيرة من زائر إلى مقيم. ويتعين تقديم رخصة القيادة الصادرة عن بلد آخر للجهات المختصة للاطّلاع عليها.

  • سؤال:ما الأعياد الوطنية في قطر؟
    جواب:

    تشمل الأعياد الوطنية اليوم الرياضي للدولة (الثلاثاء الثاني من شهر فبراير)، واليوم الوطني لدولة قطر (18 ديسمبر)، وعيدي الفطر والأضحى. تختلف تواريخ العيدين من عام لآخر وفقًا للتقويم الهجري، إلا أن العطلة الخاصة بهما تتراوح ما بين أربعة وخمسة أيام.

الفعاليات

06

في دولة قطر، هناك دائمًا العديد من الأنشطة بانتظارك.

Life in Qatar

Work, study, or visit—anything you do in Qatar will make you experience a vibrant community working together to drive this country toward new, exciting heights.

Introduction

01

Life in Qatar is a unique fusion of modernity and cultural tradition. While our cities beat with the latest features and infrastructure—all working toward advancing the nation into a modern up-and-coming global hub—you can still find our heritage, traditions, and culture at the heart of everything we do, and in every detail of your surroundings.

What does that fusion look like day-to-day? It means being able to work in a cutting-edge urban facility, while spending the weekend dune bashing in Qatar’s breathtaking deserts and camping under a starry night sky. You don’t even need to go that far to do so; most major destinations are an hour’s drive from Education City.

Something for Everyone

02

Doha is a city of tomorrow, built for today. Here’s what makes it stand out.

01

A convenient lifestyle

Life in Qatar is one based around comfort and convenience. It is one of the safest countries to live in the world and has the highest-ranked healthcare system in the Middle East, which every resident can utilize. Residents of Qatar enjoy a high standard of living, with a variety of facilities guaranteeing their wellbeing and safety, including modern medical facilities, luxurious accommodation, and efficient welfare services.

02

A cosmopolitan capital

The people of Doha exemplify deeply rooted traditions and values of collaboration, compassion, tolerance, and mercy. Expats from outside of Qatar form a majority of the population, joining the small local population in sharing the vision of transforming the country. In a society that welcomes people from different countries, cultures, and religions, acceptance and support are our priorities to ensure everyone feels at home.

03

A pathway to the world

Qatar is strategically located at the heart of one of the world’s most prosperous and rapidly developing regions, and is conveniently situated at the crossroads of Asia, Europe, and Africa. Whether you are traveling for business, family, or leisure, you will have easy access to the world through our award-winning Hamad International Airport, which is also home to Qatar Airways, one of the world’s fastest growing airline networks.

04

A land of opportunity

Qatar is a country in motion, where new advances and expansions yield new opportunities every day. With Qatar National Vision 2030 directing the country’s path to development, some of the world’s most ambitious projects are being undertaken in Doha, such as the Middle East’s first FIFA World Cup kicking off in Qatar in 2022.

05

A modern hub for culture and tradition

Embracing global modernity while championing local art and culture go hand-in-hand in Qatar. We house different cultural and artistic establishments like museums, art galleries, and music and heritage centers, which not only exhibit Qatari history and Islamic tradition, but foster a curiosity for art and creativity among all.

Our Traditions

03

Have a look at some of our country’s guiding traditions.

Image 1 of 11

In Qatar, Kahwa (coffee) plays a special role as a symbolic expression of welcome. Even the pot itself, with its characteristic shape, has come to depict hospitality. Freshly ground and flavored with cardamom, the coffee is served in tiny cups with no handles, which should be taken with the right hand. The server will continue to replenish the cup until you signal you have had enough by shaking it gently from side to side.

Henna, a natural reddish brown dye derived from powdered leaves, has been used by Qatari women for cosmetic purposes for hundreds of years. It is still widely used today to decorate the skin with beautiful intricate patterns, especially for occasions such as weddings and other celebrations, and as a hair dye.

Arda is a popular folk dance performed by men, involving synchronized movements in time with music played on traditional hand-held drums. Conducted with a certain formality and dignity, the dancers carry swords and wear cross-belts, reflecting the Arda’s origins as a war dance. Today, it is usually performed at weddings and other communal celebrations.

Pearl diving was one of the main sources of livelihood for Qataris for many generations before the discovery of oil. The waters around the peninsula produced pearls of the finest quality and the people of the coastal settlements became adept at the arduous work of harvesting the oyster shells from the seabed. The industry faded with the advent of artificial pearls.

Arabic calligraphy is a highly venerated art form in Qatar and other Islamic countries. It involves beautiful, decorative penmanship, often featuring passages from the Holy Qur’an. Examples of fine calligraphy can be seen in many forms in modern-day Qatar on paper, tiles, carpets, wall hangings, and carved inscriptions.

Gypsum has traditionally been used widely for construction and architectural decoration. A soft mineral, it can be easily carved and moulded by skilled craftsmen. It is found naturally in Qatar, giving rise to such geological phenomena as ‘desert roses’ and deep caves.

The majlis, a place set aside for welcoming visitors with coffee and refreshments, plays a central role in the legendary hospitality of traditional Arab society. Traveling strangers have always been welcome to share food and drink. The hospitality of the majlis lives on in modern day Qatar.

The ancient sport of falconry is enthusiastically pursued by many Qataris during the winter hunting season. Much time and care is devoted to training young falcons so as to create a close bond between the hunter and his cherished bird. The prey of choice is the houbara bustard as it migrates south for winter.

Oud and Bukhoor are forms of incense that are popular in Qatar and throughout the region. Made from wood scented with fragrant oils, it is burned in a special incense burner called a ‘mabkhara’ to produce a rich smoke to perfume the home and clothing. Visitors are often invited to waft the aroma around themselves as a form of hospitality.

Sadu is an ancient handicraft practiced by the women of Qatar, involving the weaving of camel and goat hair to make traditional Bedouin carpets, tents, and pillows. They use a manual weaving device made of wood, called ‘Al-Nool.’

Qatar has a rich camel racing and equestrian heritage. The tradition is woven into the very fabric of Qatar, with national and international events organized regularly to celebrate the sport. The country is known for its prized Arabian horses, many of whom are purebred at Qatar Foundation’s Al Shaqab.

Attractions

04

Have a look at some of our country’s leading attractions.

Image 1 of 7

Katara Cultural Village, an innovative interpretation of the region’s architectural heritage, is a purpose-built development with impressive theatres, galleries, and performance venues that stage a lively year-round program of concerts, shows, and exhibitions.

A UNESCO World Heritage Site, Al Zubarah includes three major features, the largest of which are the archaeological remains of the town, dating back to the 1760s. Connected to it is the settlement of Qal’at Murair, which was fortified to protect the city’s inland wells. Al Zubarah Fort was built in 1938 and is the youngest, most prominent feature at the site.

A seven-kilometer long waterfront promenade that spans the entire length of Doha Bay, the Doha Corniche offers spectacular vistas of the city, from the dramatic high rise towers of the central business district to the bold shapes of the Museum of Islamic Art. Traditional wooden dhows lining the Bay evoke echoes of Qatar’s great seafaring past.

A stroll down the bustling alleys of Souq Waqif provides an authentic taste of traditional commerce, architecture, and culture. The maze of small shops offer a dazzling array of Middle Eastern merchandise from spices and seasonal delicacies such as fresh dates and nuts, to perfumes, ornate jewellery, clothing, handicrafts, and a treasure trove of souvenir bargains.

The Pearl-Qatar is a man-made island off the West Bay coast featuring Mediterranean-style yacht-lined marinas, upmarket residential towers, villas, and internationally renowned hotels, as well as luxury shopping at top brand name boutiques and showrooms.

One of architect IM Pei’s final designs, the Museum of Islamic Art is one of the leading collections of Islamic art in the world. Its award-winning collections include feature paintings, glassworks, metalwork, ceramics, textiles, and manuscripts.

Set to open in 2019, the National Museum of Qatar is a museum dedicated to interlocking Qatar’s past and celebrating the culture and future of Qatar. The museum extends along 11 chronologically arranged galleries, beginning with an exhibition on natural history and going all the way to galleries about Qatar as a modern state.

FAQs

05

Questions about life in Qatar

  • Q:What is the public transportation system in Qatar like?
    A:

    Mowasalat is the transport company, and they run buses throughout most of Doha. However, they are often crowded and not as frequent as they may be in your home country. It can also be uncomfortable waiting in the sun during the summer months. Most QF staff prefer other methods of transportation. You can find more information on routes, fares, and schedules on their website: www.mowasalat.com

    The Doha Metro is currently under construction. The metro system will be built in two phases: the first will see the construction of three out of the four lines (Red, Gold, and Green) and 37 stations. These lines are expected to be open to the public by 2020. The future phases involve the introduction of an additional line (Blue) and the expansion of the existing ones, with more than 60 additional stations and the first expansion will be completed by 2026.

  • Q:Are there any recreational activities in Doha?
    A:

    There are many recreational facilities and health fitness centers in Doha. Many hotels have health and wellness classes open to the public such as aerobics, fitness classes, gyms, spa treatments, yoga, and Pilates. There are also many sports and sporting associations such as bowling, baseball, basketball, cycling, fencing, hockey, golf, and equestrian sports. Comedy, dancing, drama, and music are also some of the things that you can get involved with while in Doha. Major events are happening around the year in some of the major cultural hubs of the country in places like Katara, The Pearl, and the West Bay.

    Learn more about Life in Qatar.

  • Q:What is the weather like in Qatar?
    A:

    The weather is generally pleasant in winter, and hot and humid during the summer. Winter daytime temperatures average 20-35 degrees Celsius (68-95 degrees Fahrenheit), although nights can be relatively cool. You will need to wear a sweater or a light coat during the winter. In summer, the temperature gets as high as 50 degrees Celsius (122 degrees Fahrenheit).

  • Q:What is the dress code in Qatar?
    A:

    Qatar is an Islamic country and visitors and expats are expected to be respectful of the traditions of the state. Qataris generally wear the national dress of abayas and thobes. In accordance with local culture and customs, residents are requested to wear modest clothing that covers your shoulder and knees.

  • Q:Can I use my existing driving license in Qatar?
    A:

    If arriving in Qatar on a visitor’s visa, it is possible to use a national license from any country to drive a car for seven days, provided it is a rental vehicle. A driver who holds an International Driving Permit (IDP) may drive a rental vehicle for up to six months—or until the visa status changes from visitor to resident. The license from the home country must be available for inspection.

  • Q:What are Qatar’s national holidays?
    A:

    National holidays include National Sport Day (the second Tuesday in February) and Qatar National Day (18 December). We also provide working holidays during the two Eids. The exact dates of the Eids vary depending on the year, but are normally both 4-5 working days in length.

Events

06

There’s always something to do in Qatar.